Halloween Popcorn Pumpkins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe was very good and fast to make...here are a few suggestions: 1. Beware of left over kernels from microwave popcorn, they definitely can hurt a tooth. Popping your own popcorn on the stove prevents this and is just as fast. 2. Put a couple cubes of caramel in the marshmellow sauce, this really makes a diffence! I did one sauce with and one without...the caramels add something that was lacking. 3. For a more vibrant orange use 4 drops of red and 5 drops of yellow. 4. Add few loose marshmellows to the popcorn mixture. 5. To evenly distribute the candy corn and peanuts, pour them ontop of the popcorn and then pour the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
TIP: put popcorn in a brown paper lunch bag (no oil necessary) and microwave it. This is healthier than the chemical kind you buy. It is also easier than shaking a pan on the stove. Once popped, Tear a small hole in one corner of the brown bag and shake your popcorn over the trash can to get the unpopped kernels to fall out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This recipe is great! It's very fun for kids and adults. If you buy bagged popcorn do not buy really buttery popcorn. This recipe adds butter to the mixture - you don't want to over do it. The salty and sweet mix together very well. If you don't follow the recipe you won't get a 5 star result. Hope this helps! Thanks for the recipe. The kids at Day Care Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Excellent and a great way to use up candy corn. I couldn't stop eating these! Made these last night and added in roasted peanuts and m&m's. I only used 1/4 cup of butter instead as well. And decided to insert pretzel sticks instead and wraped these nicely in little baggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meowmix318

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Oh, to be the first review will less than a five! I used about 6½ cups of popcorn and I omitted the peanuts and candy corn (I wanted it to be a little LESS bad for us). I did use the licorice, and it took a lot more yellow food colouring to get orange. The only problem I had was that there was way too much butter. Next time, I would use half as much because I ended up with a pool of it separating from the marshmallow after melting and mixing them together. It was fun, though, and we certainly don't regret trying the recipe! I will try it again with a few more changes, and maybe I'll add some Rice Krispies or corn flakes in with the popcorn. Thanks for sharing, Aleta. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe for classroom treats. My kids loved helping to make them and everyone ate them right up. I added a leaf to the pumpkin, by dying some extra popcorn green and placing one at the base of each stem, made them even cuter! I also used a thick pretzel stick for the stem instead of licorice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Nault
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This was fun & the kids loved how they turned out....I used plain as can be popcorn and followed the recipe exactly and I have to agree with "Duckball" and say that it was way too buttery. Because of all the butter, these ended up not very sweet at all, and so soft that the licorice would not stay in place. Other than that it was overall a good recipe. I will try this recipe again, with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Nault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Thank you for such an easy, fun and very creative recipe! I am always on the hunt for cute recipe ideas like this one! I used Wilton's orange concentrated paste instead of the food colouring drops. I didn't add any peanuts (these are going to a peanut free school zone) but instead I added 1C of marshmallows w/ the candy corn and stirred them in. (They didn't melt. So there is whole mini-marshmallows in every bite) I used green apple flavoured licorice for the stems. I only got 10 pumpkins out of this recipe. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TabithaandMurphy
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I doubled the recipe and it came out perfect! I followed the instructions exactly except I omited the stems (I instead individually wrapped them in cellophane and tied with black ribbons). Thanks for posting - these will be fun to play around with for different holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This is a smaller version than my mom makes for christmas popcorn balls and it it is great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Barker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States