Halloween Brain Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by spicegrrl
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was fabulous fun! The red/blue 'fruit-by-the-foot' was perfect to use for the veins. I cut very thin strips and wet them slightly before pushing them into the folds of the cauliflower. For those having issues with the cauliflower falling apart: Simply carve out a small hollow at the stem area and then spoon the dip generously over the top of the 'brain'. Do not dig out a large 'bowl' in the cauliflower or it will fall apart. Guests LOVED this presentation--thanks Annie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I loved this!! It was so tasty and my friends all loved it! The only thing I changed was the fruit-by-the-foot as veins, instead I dipped a toothpick in some food coloring and used that to draw veins on :) worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this for my Halloween party this year and it was a big hit! I didn't think people would understand that it is supposed to be a brain but they totally got it! I bought pre made guacamole to make it even easier. If you're careful with the cauliflower it won't fall apart. And a little bit of water on you're fingers helps the fruit veins stick when you're putting them on. LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Five stars for presentation. I used the blue/red Fruit By the Foot and the color was perfect. Filled the "bowl" with salsa and served with dark blue tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great idea and recipe! I made this for Halloween and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by atek33
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was a huge hit at my companies halloween party! As another person suggested I flipped the head of cauliflower upside down and created the hollow in the stem. I think the trick here is to have a really nice and thick guacamole that you can build upwards.. that way it won't matter how deep your hollow is. I used the guacamole recipe on this site by bob cody and it was fabulous. I also wet the fruit leather, which made it stick directly to the califlower... no weaving required. Then I dipped the left over red leather in water and rubbed it all over the cauliflower to create a red tint. I placed it all on a large round plate and surrounded it by lime chips. Delish and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cornelius, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Awesome idea! It was so easy to prepare, especially because I cheated and used store bought guacamole. I used Fruit by the Foot brand fruit leather, because they carry a flavor called Berry Ty-Dye which is a mix of blues and reds. Thanks for this cute idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I brought this dish to a Halloween party and it was a big hit! Only one note: I used the little packages of fruit leather found at the store and had a hard time getting them to stay (they weren't quite long enough). I would recommend using larger packages or something like Fruit by the Foot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taka
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Every one at the work potluck LOVED my brain! I used store bought guacomole, so I didn't get the eyeballs. And I used food coloring for the veins...but it never really dried, so it got all over my hands anytime I touched it. I served it in a 9x9 square glass dish and put red salsa around the base like the picture posted. Now what to do with my leftover purple cauliflower?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndm726

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States