Halloween Brain Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Awesome idea! It was so easy to prepare, especially because I cheated and used store bought guacamole. I used Fruit by the Foot brand fruit leather, because they carry a flavor called Berry Ty-Dye which is a mix of blues and reds. Thanks for this cute idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I brought this dish to a Halloween party and it was a big hit! Only one note: I used the little packages of fruit leather found at the store and had a hard time getting them to stay (they weren't quite long enough). I would recommend using larger packages or something like Fruit by the Foot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I loved this!! It was so tasty and my friends all loved it! The only thing I changed was the fruit-by-the-foot as veins, instead I dipped a toothpick in some food coloring and used that to draw veins on :) worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spicegrrl
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was fabulous fun! The red/blue 'fruit-by-the-foot' was perfect to use for the veins. I cut very thin strips and wet them slightly before pushing them into the folds of the cauliflower. For those having issues with the cauliflower falling apart: Simply carve out a small hollow at the stem area and then spoon the dip generously over the top of the 'brain'. Do not dig out a large 'bowl' in the cauliflower or it will fall apart. Guests LOVED this presentation--thanks Annie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Great idea! Looks wonderful with a little extra work. After making this several times in anticipation of a "Witches Brew and Frightful Finger Foods" cocktail party, I have perfected the best way to approach this "Brain Dip" recipe. Heat water until it reaches a slow/ gentle boil. Set cauliflower face down carefully into the center of your boiling pot with enough water that it envelopes 90% of the cauliflower, but leaves the stem showing. The stem should be out of the water.... On a slow rolling bowl (approximately 10 -15 minutes depending on size of cauliflower) blanch the head of cauliflower until it is barely soft - this makes "carving" out the cauliflower much easier.... Let the cauliflower cool until it is warm and then hollow out the center. So much easier than other reviewers have noted! I found the "veins" to be equally time consuming - either adding the fruit or "painting" the veins with food coloring! Either way, the end result is magnificent. Hat's off to you Annie1 for creativity and ingenuity. Thanks for a guaranteed recipe to provoke a discussion, comment or a second look for a fun filled and spooky holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by atek33
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was a huge hit at my companies halloween party! As another person suggested I flipped the head of cauliflower upside down and created the hollow in the stem. I think the trick here is to have a really nice and thick guacamole that you can build upwards.. that way it won't matter how deep your hollow is. I used the guacamole recipe on this site by bob cody and it was fabulous. I also wet the fruit leather, which made it stick directly to the califlower... no weaving required. Then I dipped the left over red leather in water and rubbed it all over the cauliflower to create a red tint. I placed it all on a large round plate and surrounded it by lime chips. Delish and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cornelius, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This was horrible. "might" need toothpicks? My cauliflower heads are medium size, and to get an opening big enough for one avocado's worth of guacamole, I cut out enough and it's falling apart. Plus, I cant get the fruit stuff to stick. This is NOT easy. Do not do this unless you have at least an hour to figure out how to do it, and a lot of skill with toothpicks. This has to go off my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
What a cute idea! I passed on the fruit roll-ups and made my veins with red and blue frosting (much easier!) but the overall effect of this was fantastic! Not to mention it's nice to be able serve some real food at my Halloween party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prospective PhD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this for my Halloween party this year and it was a big hit! I didn't think people would understand that it is supposed to be a brain but they totally got it! I bought pre made guacamole to make it even easier. If you're careful with the cauliflower it won't fall apart. And a little bit of water on you're fingers helps the fruit veins stick when you're putting them on. LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
As far as presentation goes, it made a great presentation. HOWEVER, it was SO difficult to create. I couldn't cut the center deep enough to put all the dip in without the cauli falling apart (and it's too cumbersome to use toothpicks to pieces it together). And the fruit by the foot wouldn't stick to the cauli no matter how much I dried the cauli. I air dried it outside for ten minutes and then it was still wet, so I used my blowdryer, but that seemed to heat it up and make more moisture. I was able to get about four strings put on it with TOO MUCH effort and gave up. I will not make this again. Only try this if you have a lot of time on your hands and want a challenge. Super presentation though if you can hack it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States