Halloween Brain Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Awesome idea! It was so easy to prepare, especially because I cheated and used store bought guacamole. I used Fruit by the Foot brand fruit leather, because they carry a flavor called Berry Ty-Dye which is a mix of blues and reds. Thanks for this cute idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I brought this dish to a Halloween party and it was a big hit! Only one note: I used the little packages of fruit leather found at the store and had a hard time getting them to stay (they weren't quite long enough). I would recommend using larger packages or something like Fruit by the Foot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I just love this presentation! I'm planning to bring curried cauliflower to the office Halloween potluck (steamed cauliflower "brain" smothered in Trader Joe's Bombay Curry simmer sauce). I ususually mix raisins in the sauce to give it a little sweet complement. However the fruit leather "veins" will work even better. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This was horrible. "might" need toothpicks? My cauliflower heads are medium size, and to get an opening big enough for one avocado's worth of guacamole, I cut out enough and it's falling apart. Plus, I cant get the fruit stuff to stick. This is NOT easy. Do not do this unless you have at least an hour to figure out how to do it, and a lot of skill with toothpicks. This has to go off my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I made this for my Halloween party this year and it was a big hit! I didn't think people would understand that it is supposed to be a brain but they totally got it! I bought pre made guacamole to make it even easier. If you're careful with the cauliflower it won't fall apart. And a little bit of water on you're fingers helps the fruit veins stick when you're putting them on. LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Did not work for me, cauliflower fell apart even after I tried to use toothpicks. Ended up arranging the florets on the platter around the guac, and people ate them :) Good idea but didn't work for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spicegrrl
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was fabulous fun! The red/blue 'fruit-by-the-foot' was perfect to use for the veins. I cut very thin strips and wet them slightly before pushing them into the folds of the cauliflower. For those having issues with the cauliflower falling apart: Simply carve out a small hollow at the stem area and then spoon the dip generously over the top of the 'brain'. Do not dig out a large 'bowl' in the cauliflower or it will fall apart. Guests LOVED this presentation--thanks Annie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taka
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This turned out really well for me. I didn't use the dip recipe, but the "brain" idea was really cute and turned out neat. I used skewers to hold together as I hollowed cauliflower out. Its tricky, but do what works for you. I'll probably use again! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Five stars for presentation. I used the blue/red Fruit By the Foot and the color was perfect. Filled the "bowl" with salsa and served with dark blue tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States