Halloween Brain Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Every one at the work potluck LOVED my brain! I used store bought guacomole, so I didn't get the eyeballs. And I used food coloring for the veins...but it never really dried, so it got all over my hands anytime I touched it. I served it in a 9x9 square glass dish and put red salsa around the base like the picture posted. Now what to do with my leftover purple cauliflower?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndm726

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by atek33
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was a huge hit at my companies halloween party! As another person suggested I flipped the head of cauliflower upside down and created the hollow in the stem. I think the trick here is to have a really nice and thick guacamole that you can build upwards.. that way it won't matter how deep your hollow is. I used the guacamole recipe on this site by bob cody and it was fabulous. I also wet the fruit leather, which made it stick directly to the califlower... no weaving required. Then I dipped the left over red leather in water and rubbed it all over the cauliflower to create a red tint. I placed it all on a large round plate and surrounded it by lime chips. Delish and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cornelius, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I loved this!! It was so tasty and my friends all loved it! The only thing I changed was the fruit-by-the-foot as veins, instead I dipped a toothpick in some food coloring and used that to draw veins on :) worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
As far as presentation goes, it made a great presentation. HOWEVER, it was SO difficult to create. I couldn't cut the center deep enough to put all the dip in without the cauli falling apart (and it's too cumbersome to use toothpicks to pieces it together). And the fruit by the foot wouldn't stick to the cauli no matter how much I dried the cauli. I air dried it outside for ten minutes and then it was still wet, so I used my blowdryer, but that seemed to heat it up and make more moisture. I was able to get about four strings put on it with TOO MUCH effort and gave up. I will not make this again. Only try this if you have a lot of time on your hands and want a challenge. Super presentation though if you can hack it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made this for a Halloween party. Great dish very creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great idea and recipe! I made this for Halloween and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Five stars for presentation. I used the blue/red Fruit By the Foot and the color was perfect. Filled the "bowl" with salsa and served with dark blue tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This turned out really well for me. I didn't use the dip recipe, but the "brain" idea was really cute and turned out neat. I used skewers to hold together as I hollowed cauliflower out. Its tricky, but do what works for you. I'll probably use again! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taka
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spicegrrl
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This was fabulous fun! The red/blue 'fruit-by-the-foot' was perfect to use for the veins. I cut very thin strips and wet them slightly before pushing them into the folds of the cauliflower. For those having issues with the cauliflower falling apart: Simply carve out a small hollow at the stem area and then spoon the dip generously over the top of the 'brain'. Do not dig out a large 'bowl' in the cauliflower or it will fall apart. Guests LOVED this presentation--thanks Annie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States