Halloween Brain Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
What a fun way to serve your favorite dip.Dipping the fruit leather in warm water helps it to stick to the cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
What a cute idea! I passed on the fruit roll-ups and made my veins with red and blue frosting (much easier!) but the overall effect of this was fantastic! Not to mention it's nice to be able serve some real food at my Halloween party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prospective PhD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Extremely challenging, but very adorable idea. I tried to hollow out near the stem instead, as someone suggested, but it was still really difficult, and getting the fruit leather to stay was next to impossible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Found this recipe this morning looking for a last-minute creative appetizer for a party tonight. Just made a cauliflower "brain" following this recipe, am going to fill it with spinach artichoke dip (store bought so I cheated a little). Started with fruit roll-up slices for the veins but ended up using red and blue food coloring to draw in the veins instead. Only carved out a small portion of the cauliflower and am going to use the carved portion as a cap/top to the dip. Super easy and very creative, especially if you use a prepared dip and salsa. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Nice idea but almost impossible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Every one at the work potluck LOVED my brain! I used store bought guacomole, so I didn't get the eyeballs. And I used food coloring for the veins...but it never really dried, so it got all over my hands anytime I touched it. I served it in a 9x9 square glass dish and put red salsa around the base like the picture posted. Now what to do with my leftover purple cauliflower?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndm726

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by atek33
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was a huge hit at my companies halloween party! As another person suggested I flipped the head of cauliflower upside down and created the hollow in the stem. I think the trick here is to have a really nice and thick guacamole that you can build upwards.. that way it won't matter how deep your hollow is. I used the guacamole recipe on this site by bob cody and it was fabulous. I also wet the fruit leather, which made it stick directly to the califlower... no weaving required. Then I dipped the left over red leather in water and rubbed it all over the cauliflower to create a red tint. I placed it all on a large round plate and surrounded it by lime chips. Delish and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cornelius, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I loved this!! It was so tasty and my friends all loved it! The only thing I changed was the fruit-by-the-foot as veins, instead I dipped a toothpick in some food coloring and used that to draw veins on :) worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
As far as presentation goes, it made a great presentation. HOWEVER, it was SO difficult to create. I couldn't cut the center deep enough to put all the dip in without the cauli falling apart (and it's too cumbersome to use toothpicks to pieces it together). And the fruit by the foot wouldn't stick to the cauli no matter how much I dried the cauli. I air dried it outside for ten minutes and then it was still wet, so I used my blowdryer, but that seemed to heat it up and make more moisture. I was able to get about four strings put on it with TOO MUCH effort and gave up. I will not make this again. Only try this if you have a lot of time on your hands and want a challenge. Super presentation though if you can hack it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made this for a Halloween party. Great dish very creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States