Halloween Brain Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I cheated and used store bought guacamole, but the cauliflower "brain" was a huge hit! I served it at a Friday the 13th party and everyone got a huge kick out of it. Such a clever idea. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Presentation received several comments about how 'gruesome' looking it was, but when they realized it was just guacamole dip with cauliflower , they felt better about eating it. Lol Easy to make and a fun idea for Halloween! Also, used leftover cauliflower for cheesy cauliflower soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I made this for our Halloween party!! Very cute and easy! I also added a 1/4 cup cottage cheese to the guacamole to give it more texture! It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I confess: I used premade guac for the filling. But I give 5 stars for the stellar presentation. I found it was easier to leave a few of the cauliflower stems in tact. You can't stuff the "brain" with as much filling, but the pieces hold together easier this way. The frontal lobe collapsed mid-party. I didn't have any toothpicks, so I broke off the prongs of a plastic fork and held the pieces together that way. It's an easy trick, if you're in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren0926

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brianarama
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Very cool--thanks for the idea. I bought the biggest cauliflower I could find. You don't have to cut very deep. Use a sharp knife and cut the leaves and some of the stem a little at a time so you don't cut any of the florets. I also trimmed the outside of the cauliflower to make it look more symmetrical and less lumpy. Use blue and red gel food coloring--the consistency looks more realistic and lasts longer. I used blue corn chips and beet chips to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Great idea! Looks wonderful with a little extra work. After making this several times in anticipation of a "Witches Brew and Frightful Finger Foods" cocktail party, I have perfected the best way to approach this "Brain Dip" recipe. Heat water until it reaches a slow/ gentle boil. Set cauliflower face down carefully into the center of your boiling pot with enough water that it envelopes 90% of the cauliflower, but leaves the stem showing. The stem should be out of the water.... On a slow rolling bowl (approximately 10 -15 minutes depending on size of cauliflower) blanch the head of cauliflower until it is barely soft - this makes "carving" out the cauliflower much easier.... Let the cauliflower cool until it is warm and then hollow out the center. So much easier than other reviewers have noted! I found the "veins" to be equally time consuming - either adding the fruit or "painting" the veins with food coloring! Either way, the end result is magnificent. Hat's off to you Annie1 for creativity and ingenuity. Thanks for a guaranteed recipe to provoke a discussion, comment or a second look for a fun filled and spooky holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I made this for a Dinner and a Movie party at our house, where the movie was "Dracula: Dead and Loving It." The movie was a hoot and there were lots of crazy h'or douerves. This one looked great and the taste was good, but not memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Loved this idea! I used icing pens instead of fruit leather and I think it was probably easier. Everyone at the Halloween party loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Swingqueen80
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Becareful how you core the cauliflower. I broke mine trying to core it, but it still turned out just fine. I also used premade dip to save time. The look was perfect for the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This was great! I used food coloring on the tips of toothpicks to add red and blue "veins." My husband picked it up and just gave me the "what are you up to this time?" look! Went over great and looks awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States