Halloween Brain Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Great idea! Looks wonderful with a little extra work. After making this several times in anticipation of a "Witches Brew and Frightful Finger Foods" cocktail party, I have perfected the best way to approach this "Brain Dip" recipe. Heat water until it reaches a slow/ gentle boil. Set cauliflower face down carefully into the center of your boiling pot with enough water that it envelopes 90% of the cauliflower, but leaves the stem showing. The stem should be out of the water.... On a slow rolling bowl (approximately 10 -15 minutes depending on size of cauliflower) blanch the head of cauliflower until it is barely soft - this makes "carving" out the cauliflower much easier.... Let the cauliflower cool until it is warm and then hollow out the center. So much easier than other reviewers have noted! I found the "veins" to be equally time consuming - either adding the fruit or "painting" the veins with food coloring! Either way, the end result is magnificent. Hat's off to you Annie1 for creativity and ingenuity. Thanks for a guaranteed recipe to provoke a discussion, comment or a second look for a fun filled and spooky holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I made this for a Dinner and a Movie party at our house, where the movie was "Dracula: Dead and Loving It." The movie was a hoot and there were lots of crazy h'or douerves. This one looked great and the taste was good, but not memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Loved this idea! I used icing pens instead of fruit leather and I think it was probably easier. Everyone at the Halloween party loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Swingqueen80
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Becareful how you core the cauliflower. I broke mine trying to core it, but it still turned out just fine. I also used premade dip to save time. The look was perfect for the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This was great! I used food coloring on the tips of toothpicks to add red and blue "veins." My husband picked it up and just gave me the "what are you up to this time?" look! Went over great and looks awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
15 minutes? I spent easily 45! Even being ultra careful stemming the cauliflower head, it fell apart. I used 10-15 toothpicks and it was still very wobbly. Unable to find the rope fruit leather, so sliced up fruit roll-ups. They would not stick or stay into the cauliflower crevices and caused the "brain" to fall completely apart. Brain went into the trash along with fruit roll-ups. Waste of money and time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great idea & reasonably easy to pull together. You can use any dip you like, homemade or store-bought (I used pre-made guacamole & covered it with salsa to make it look more ghastly). I put drops of red food coloring on the cauliflower & spread it all over the florets using a pastry brush. I placed the head in a medium size styrofoam bowl for stability & lined the bowl with lettuce leaves to enhance the appearance....it looked like what one would expect a zombie brain to look like! Served with blue tortilla chips & took it to a party... guests were unsure if they were allowed to eat it or if it were a decoration. Eventually everyone dove-in once someone took the inital serving...really great Halloween party treat, as the sweets are always overdone. Thanks Annie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I too flipped mine upside down and placed it in a bowl perched in a skull shaped halloween bucket. I also sprayed the cauliflower with diluted food coloring (just some spritzes in black and red) it ended up looking like the brain had been bruised. Finally I used hummus instead of guacamole. Just line the inside with a big of plastic wrap to keep it from seeping inside the "brain". This combined with some red food coloring was positively disgusting looking. And was the first thing to go at my party. They even started eating the brain with the dip ran out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trish
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Everyone at the party RAVED and wanted the recipe. couldnt believe how easy it was. I normaly dont care for guacamole, but really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charisma138
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I used the guacamole recipe from this site by Bob Cody, which is fabulous. I thought the brain didn't look as cool once I added the fruit by the foot, so I didn't leave that on. I did attempt to dye my cauliflower with red food coloring. That didn't take very well, but it did have a somewhat pinkish tint. It was a really great presentation though all n all and I enjoyed making it. It was devoured instantly, but that's because of that fantastic guacamole. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States