Halloween Brain Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was so much fun to put together. I didn't end up cutting much other than the leaves out, but that was plenty of room for the dip. I ended up using the toothpicks to hold the fruit-by-the-foot onto the cauliflower, and that worked excellent. The dip was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Loved this, I made it for halloween this year and it was a huge hit. I could not get the fruit to stick, so I just draped it over the sides, worked fine and looked good. If you look at the inside of the cauliflower before cutting, you can make sure you dont cut any of the conections. I fit 5 avocados worth of guacamole onto the a mid size cauliflower, had to pile it, but totally worked great. Definately will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODDESDARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
The trick is use a sharp knife and don't cut away too much cauliflower. This is great idea and it was a hit! I cheated and used some guacamole from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Add vegetable dip to your shopping list. You'll need something for the cauliflower pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was a complete failure. The cauliflower fell to pieces when I cut out the center. Toothpicks did not hold it together right. And the slices of fruit leather absolutely refused to adhere to the cauliflower. It was so frustrating. I threw the cauliflower in the trash and just served regular chips and dip. This recipe is a waste of time and ingredients. Don't try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
What a fun way to serve your favorite dip.Dipping the fruit leather in warm water helps it to stick to the cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
What a cute idea! I passed on the fruit roll-ups and made my veins with red and blue frosting (much easier!) but the overall effect of this was fantastic! Not to mention it's nice to be able serve some real food at my Halloween party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prospective PhD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Extremely challenging, but very adorable idea. I tried to hollow out near the stem instead, as someone suggested, but it was still really difficult, and getting the fruit leather to stay was next to impossible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeray82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Found this recipe this morning looking for a last-minute creative appetizer for a party tonight. Just made a cauliflower "brain" following this recipe, am going to fill it with spinach artichoke dip (store bought so I cheated a little). Started with fruit roll-up slices for the veins but ended up using red and blue food coloring to draw in the veins instead. Only carved out a small portion of the cauliflower and am going to use the carved portion as a cap/top to the dip. Super easy and very creative, especially if you use a prepared dip and salsa. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Nice idea but almost impossible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Broccoli and Artichoke Party Dip

Get the holidays going with a hot and bubbly party dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States