Halloween Brain Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
15 minutes? I spent easily 45! Even being ultra careful stemming the cauliflower head, it fell apart. I used 10-15 toothpicks and it was still very wobbly. Unable to find the rope fruit leather, so sliced up fruit roll-ups. They would not stick or stay into the cauliflower crevices and caused the "brain" to fall completely apart. Brain went into the trash along with fruit roll-ups. Waste of money and time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great idea & reasonably easy to pull together. You can use any dip you like, homemade or store-bought (I used pre-made guacamole & covered it with salsa to make it look more ghastly). I put drops of red food coloring on the cauliflower & spread it all over the florets using a pastry brush. I placed the head in a medium size styrofoam bowl for stability & lined the bowl with lettuce leaves to enhance the appearance....it looked like what one would expect a zombie brain to look like! Served with blue tortilla chips & took it to a party... guests were unsure if they were allowed to eat it or if it were a decoration. Eventually everyone dove-in once someone took the inital serving...really great Halloween party treat, as the sweets are always overdone. Thanks Annie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I too flipped mine upside down and placed it in a bowl perched in a skull shaped halloween bucket. I also sprayed the cauliflower with diluted food coloring (just some spritzes in black and red) it ended up looking like the brain had been bruised. Finally I used hummus instead of guacamole. Just line the inside with a big of plastic wrap to keep it from seeping inside the "brain". This combined with some red food coloring was positively disgusting looking. And was the first thing to go at my party. They even started eating the brain with the dip ran out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trish
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Everyone at the party RAVED and wanted the recipe. couldnt believe how easy it was. I normaly dont care for guacamole, but really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charisma138
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I used the guacamole recipe from this site by Bob Cody, which is fabulous. I thought the brain didn't look as cool once I added the fruit by the foot, so I didn't leave that on. I did attempt to dye my cauliflower with red food coloring. That didn't take very well, but it did have a somewhat pinkish tint. It was a really great presentation though all n all and I enjoyed making it. It was devoured instantly, but that's because of that fantastic guacamole. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Kinda difficult to make the "brain" portion. I think I will go with a traditional guacamole dip next time. Wasn't too fond of the avocado dip. Kids wouldn't touch it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breezy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tooele, Utah, USA
Living In: Stansbury Park, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This brain worked out GREAT for me! I kept the hole in the cauliflower shallow and just kept refilling the dip. I wet the fruit wrap like others did and it stuck perfectly. I also had the "brain" sitting in a sea of salsa "blood". Very cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This felt like cheater guacamole, and since I was pressed for time and feeding it to the kids, I went with it. The dip turned out strange, but the idea of the head of cauliflower was a nice touch. the boys didn't buy it, but it grossed the girls out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Rating high for the idea as there is not much prep work really needed as far as cooking, plus I also used store bought guacamole dip. This was used for a work function. For some added fun someone had gummy worms and we used those as decorations also. This was a cute and fun idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
GREAT IDEA!!! I used Mexican Dip bulit the Cauliflower around the mexican Dip. Then Painted Veins with food coloring. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Halloween Brain Dip

Serve this spooky snack to your favorite undead partiers!

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States