Halibut with Creamy Garlic and Herb Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Let me just say that this "Creamy Garlic & Herb Sauce" is truly OUTSTANDING!!! I have yet to actually try it with halibut though, but it would be good on just about anything! I jump to Step 3 in the recipe and go from there. I've made it three ways so far. First I used it over crab cakes to rave reviews. Then I served it over cheese stuffed ravioli and again it was excellent. The other day I made a pasta dish with shrimp & spinach, along side an appetizer of pan seared sea scallops... this sauce is so good that we poured some over both courses! The whole tablespoon of crushed red pepper is a bit much though; I used about half that amount and it was still somewhat spicy. We seriously LOVE this and I can't wait to try it a dozen more ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Fantastic! Used haddock, no cilantro, no tarragon, 1/4 tsp only of crushed red pepper, no almonds (although I think they're healthy & would be delicious), 6-7 cloves of FRESH garlic, and only used a few tiny squirts of fresh lemon on fish. Better than Restaurant food...amazing sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was awesome! Made with chicken Breasts instead of fish. Great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was fabulous! I made it last night with wild, fresh halibut and I was looking for a recipe different from the usual creamy caper or panko breading. This was very flavorful (I cut the crushed red pepper to 1 teaspoon), we loved the fresh red pepper and herb combination. So yummy! This morning I realized I forgot to add the almonds but we do have leftovers for them. Definitely a keeper and for company - and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the almonds and it was amazing. I used frozen halibut filets we had in the freezer for awhile - next time we'll use fresh halibut and I plan on making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panorama City, California, USA
Living In: Bermuda Dunes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Mmmmmmm so good. I didnt use Dill because i dont like it but added a bit of thyme because its my favourite. I also did not use the almonds. Looks really nice on the plate too! The sauce alone is to die for. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I took a chance and made this for a dinner party. It was delicious! Definitely going to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
The sauce along is worth making this recipe!!! It is wonderful. I did make a couple of changes: used nonfat half and half, didn't have red pepper, used about a tsp of red pepper flakes. Hubby poured it over everything on his plate. It seems it reminds him of a Bernaise sauce....whatever it was WONDERFUL!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Great dish. Next time I'll cut the red pepper flakes to only 1 tsp. We love spicey dishes but even this was a little too hot for us. Great herb sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I didn't have the cilantro or the almonds and cut the amount of dill in half (because I don't like dill). Both my husband and I loved it and it will be something I make again for guests. The sauce would be great with chicken if you take out the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States