Halibut-Mango Ceviche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
So easy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Great recipe. It makes a lot - I brought some to my neighbor and STILL had some left over. I followed the directions perfectly and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I've had many wonderful ceviches in Central and South America, this recipe is very close. The halibut worked great. I did make some alterations based on the ingredients I had. I replaced the mango with fresh chopped tomatoes, didn't use any parsley used all fresh cilantro, only used red onion and added celery as well as the jalepenos. I used about the same ratio of limes and lemons, slightly more lime juice. Added a little olive oil, no tequila but still may add that, sounds good. Also added a little bit of lite coconut milk, some of the best ceviche I ever had was in Colombia where they added coconut milk, very tasty. Again great recipe, it covers all the basics for a good traditional ceviche. Buen apetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This was delicious! I skipped the tequila and only marinated the halibut and jalepeno. Then, I mixed fresh mango, red bell pepper, onion, garlic and tomato together and added the halibut and jalepeno. Very simple to make but would be impressive for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
LOVED this!! I used sole fillets instead of halibut, took out the tequila )the kids were going to eat it so I was worried about putting alcohol in) and halved the onion/bell pepper so there was more fish in each bite. It was sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very very good recipe for Ceviche fans. You will need excellent quality Halibut, extremely fresh. The mango really makes this differently delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I have been making ceviche for years, mainly with fresh dorado (mahi-mahi) that I fish in my home waters (Caribbean). Halibut is not a warm water fish, but you can buy frozen really inexpensive. I had a few fillets that I had thawed, cut them up in bite size pieces and used this recipe. This is a great recipe, very similar to how I have made it for many years, but adds mango and tequila; what a great touch! Use Kosher salt, as it makes a difference, also add fresh ground black pepper. If you like a less acidic ceviche, prior to serving drain the marinade liquid into a bowl and add coconut milk to your taste. You can also add ketchup, 1 or 2 teaspoons. Fresh fish is better, but if all you can find is frozen fish from a reputable brand, this is a good way to use that fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marilynrocks111
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Good flavor and easy to make.. For my taste i would let it sit for another hour or so. My fish was still a bit raw in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
The flavors were perfect, but learn from my mistake! I used frozen mango, which tasted fine, but didn't hold its shape and got a bit mushy. Not so appetizing in appearance. Stick with fresh, it will be worth it! Also, we used scallops instead of halibut and loved the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Excellent recipe! I did not add the bell peppers, parsly, or tequila but it still tasted fantastic. I subbed diced roma tomatoes and cucumbers. I highly recommend using fresh halibut cheeks instead of regular halibut for this recipe. It will make it very tender. Whole Foods carries them fresh daily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ceviche

Delicious, refreshing Mexican seafood appetizer that’s bright with flavor.

Chef John's Mahi Mahi Ceviche

See how to make a refreshing chilled fish salad.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States