Halibut Florentine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This is a recipe that is a definite remake! It was exceptionally good and the combination of the spinach and fish is very pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I made this for my family tonight and they really didn't enjoy it. I think the cheese to spinach/fish ratio was too much, it would have probably been better if I had used the sauce sparingly since it was really rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Excellent. I've never made cheese sauce this way before but it turns out OK and is much quicker than the roux method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was so easy to make. My husband's comment was 'This is like a great meal at a great restaurant!! How'd you do that?!' (and I'm NOT a bad cook!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This was a really good recipe. I lightened it up a bit. I used skim mik and 2% cheese, and I omitted the water (since the skim milk is thin to begin with) and added salt and pepper to the milk mixture. I also used talapia and fresh spinach. I sauteed the spinach first a bit, but I don't think I will bother next time. It came out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I made this recipe for my family and it was DE-lish. I used fresh spinach instead of frozen, only because that's what I had on hand. It turned out great. I will definitely make this again. Also, it was very easy to make. The family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathleen
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This recipe was super easy and it tasted really good. I flavored the halibut with garlic and a dash of fish seasoning. The only thing I found odd about this recipe was the flour and water. The ratio is really close and was a little too thick; so I tossed that and made a flour/cornstarch mix like you do for gravy and whisked it in and it seemed better. I also agree that using fresh spinach turned out nicely. But really delicious and all in all a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Heber, Utah, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was very easy and turned out pretty good. The only variation I made was using soymilk. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Great recipe. I used halibut fillets instead of steaks and fresh spinach as is. This would work well with cheaper fish also. I had twice as much cheese sauce than was required so saved till the next day for Tuna Mornay. I will never make cheese sauce any other way - I'm so grateful to have learned this method. I cut the cooking time by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
why waste good fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Halibut Enchiladas

See how to make deliciously different seafood enchiladas.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States