Halibut Divine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
As written, this recipe gets a three or a four star rating...too much mustard as others have stated. We don't care for dry mustard in large quantities, so I really reduce the amount to fit our tastes, when I make this. Using only a couple of tsps. Yes, this recipe is not for the calorie or fat conscience, but it's delicious. No fish should taste fishy. If it does, you have purchased bad fish. I live in Western Washington on an island in Puget Sound, and fresh fish is abundant here. Lucky me! If you don't know how to determine if fish is fresh, first use your nose before you purchase. It will tell you right away if it's fresh. Second, use your eyes. Don't always depend upon the fishmonger to be honest with you. Read up on how to choose fresh fish, cut the mustard, and this dish won't disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I just returned from Alaska with 100lbs of fish. This recipe was good but way to much mustard.If I made it again I would only use about 1tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I should have read the reviews. This was far too mustardy. To counteract the mustardy taste, I poured some chilli sauce over top of the sour cream and cheese and then topped with breadcrumbs to change the taste of the sauce. I served this with minted peas and mashed potatoes, and the sauce went really well when mixed in with the potatoes. It was really good this way! I think if I make this again would definately only use 1tbsp mustard and use my chilli sauce topping too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I was looking for fish recipes that can be adjusted to lower cholesterol and salt. I omitted the salt, butter and used light sour cream. Because of the previous comments I used the 3Tbs of mustard but twice the fish (I didn't increase the oil either). The mustard was just enough for the amount of fish (2 Lbs Scrod). Increase cooking time to 30 minutes if you increase the fish to 2 lbs. Although adjusted for our requirements, guess what! It was a delicious recipe for two boomers that need to do what our Dr's tell us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
They don't sell French's Fried Onions in Canada...so I made some myself using another recipe on the site. This stuff is AWESOME, and a great way to use fresh halibut -for the price it goes at, anyways- we will be making this again...try adding extra cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Whoa, this recipe is like an exercise to see how much fat you can put atop some fish. Therefore, of course it's delicious! I took heed of fellow reviewers and only used 1 tablespoon of dry mustard. I think I could have added another 1/2 and it would have still worked. I think the full amount would end up bitter though. The whole family loved it. "This can't be good for us" my husband exclaimed and the 4 year old had seconds. I was lucky enough to get to lick the serving spoon clean after scraping the pan. Naughty, but darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I felt that even with half the mustard, the mustard taste was WAY overpowering. If you do not love mustard, don't try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Yes you do need to cut way back on the mustard. Used 1/3 of what was stated. This was okay, nothing special. I will stick to my Halibut Olympia recipe. Not a repeat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Yes, believe what you read...less mustard. I made the mistake of reading the reviews AFTER I made the dish... As I was adding the mustard, I was thinking "Wow this is a lot." My kids wouldn't touch it, but with only 1T I bet they would have gobbled it down. Even too much for us parents, and we love spicy food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Very good. I took the advice from some other reviews and reduced the dry mustard to 1-1/2T. My husband even loved it and he's picky about fish. I'm guessing this would be good with any mild, white fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hockeymom214

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States