Halibut Divine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
It was SUPER runny, which I didn't expect, but everyone thought it was delicious! I took the advice of everyone and I used half the dry mustard. I doubled the recipe and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Made this dish the other evening and I have to say I was surprised. It was absolutely delicious and will definitely be having it again. It was very simple to prepare and as i said very delicious.I read a couple of reviews before making it and the only alteration to the recipe was instead of 3 tablespoons of dry mustard i only used 2 teaspoons, This recipe is a "must try" and comes highly recommended so give it a try and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was very good. Per other reviewers, I only used 2 tbs mustard (my husband thought could have used less but I liked it this way) and only a few tbs of sour cream. Also, instead of cutting up the halibut, I used the full fillet for a prettier presentation. Didn't have the fried onions... so I made onion rings instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This recipe calls for 3 Tablespoons of Dry Mustard, as the other reviews suggested, I cut back on the amount but not enough. One Teaspoon (not tablespoon) of dry mustard is adequate (and I do like mustard). I used fresh halibut that my son caught on an Alaskan fishing trip and followed the recipe as written with two exceptions: The mustard quantity and I used fat free sour cream (which I always cook with) - outside of the overwhelming mustard flavor, the only other complaint with the recipe is the cooking time. It does take a little longer to bake than what is allotted. I bake in a convection oven and the pieces on the outside of the dish were warm and the center still barely above room temp. I baked a little longer, but still found the fish not to be quite done - it should flake with a fork. Remembering a lesson previously learned from a chef when broiling halibut filets, I put this dish in the microwave for a minute, checked it and then one more minute, until the fish was done. If you find you need a little more time when fixing this recipe, try the microwave method just to finish cooking, but be sure not to overcook any fish as it will be dry/rubbery. Overall, with the modifications this has potential to be a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Not a winner with us. I reduced the mustard and skipped the fried onions altogether. Also used light ingredients. Mine came out with 2 totally different layers. The sour cream on top and a ton of liquid almost boiling the fish underneath. It was weird. Won't be a repeat in our house. I prefer the Heavenly Halibut receipe we use or using the Lemon Steamed Fish Packets receipe (both posted here).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
As written, this recipe gets a three or a four star rating...too much mustard as others have stated. We don't care for dry mustard in large quantities, so I really reduce the amount to fit our tastes, when I make this. Using only a couple of tsps. Yes, this recipe is not for the calorie or fat conscience, but it's delicious. No fish should taste fishy. If it does, you have purchased bad fish. I live in Western Washington on an island in Puget Sound, and fresh fish is abundant here. Lucky me! If you don't know how to determine if fish is fresh, first use your nose before you purchase. It will tell you right away if it's fresh. Second, use your eyes. Don't always depend upon the fishmonger to be honest with you. Read up on how to choose fresh fish, cut the mustard, and this dish won't disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I just returned from Alaska with 100lbs of fish. This recipe was good but way to much mustard.If I made it again I would only use about 1tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I should have read the reviews. This was far too mustardy. To counteract the mustardy taste, I poured some chilli sauce over top of the sour cream and cheese and then topped with breadcrumbs to change the taste of the sauce. I served this with minted peas and mashed potatoes, and the sauce went really well when mixed in with the potatoes. It was really good this way! I think if I make this again would definately only use 1tbsp mustard and use my chilli sauce topping too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I was looking for fish recipes that can be adjusted to lower cholesterol and salt. I omitted the salt, butter and used light sour cream. Because of the previous comments I used the 3Tbs of mustard but twice the fish (I didn't increase the oil either). The mustard was just enough for the amount of fish (2 Lbs Scrod). Increase cooking time to 30 minutes if you increase the fish to 2 lbs. Although adjusted for our requirements, guess what! It was a delicious recipe for two boomers that need to do what our Dr's tell us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
They don't sell French's Fried Onions in Canada...so I made some myself using another recipe on the site. This stuff is AWESOME, and a great way to use fresh halibut -for the price it goes at, anyways- we will be making this again...try adding extra cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States