Halibut Divine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Best fish i ever had.i love fish and eat it often.i used cod fish and left it in one piece,i used regular mustard in a jar about 1 tbl. and melted the butter.then on top of the sour cream and cheese i put butter cookie crumb and baked it at 365 for 35 min. perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Sorry, but this was not good for us at all. I followed the recipe exactly except for 2 things that should not have affected the final outcome - 1 tbs of dry mustard and used Tilapia, a very mild white fish. I reduced the dry mustard to 1 TBS and it was still too strong. I baked for nearly 30 minutes and the fish was still not done, had to nuke it to completely cook it thru. The olive oil/butter floated to the top so it looked a little greasy too. Sorry, won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The halibut stays nice and moist but the mustard adds a flavor that is too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This stuff is really good. Everyone enjoyed it. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I didn't care for the flavors in this dish at all. I don't know if there was too much dry mustard or what. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
It was SUPER runny, which I didn't expect, but everyone thought it was delicious! I took the advice of everyone and I used half the dry mustard. I doubled the recipe and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Made this dish the other evening and I have to say I was surprised. It was absolutely delicious and will definitely be having it again. It was very simple to prepare and as i said very delicious.I read a couple of reviews before making it and the only alteration to the recipe was instead of 3 tablespoons of dry mustard i only used 2 teaspoons, This recipe is a "must try" and comes highly recommended so give it a try and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was very good. Per other reviewers, I only used 2 tbs mustard (my husband thought could have used less but I liked it this way) and only a few tbs of sour cream. Also, instead of cutting up the halibut, I used the full fillet for a prettier presentation. Didn't have the fried onions... so I made onion rings instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This recipe calls for 3 Tablespoons of Dry Mustard, as the other reviews suggested, I cut back on the amount but not enough. One Teaspoon (not tablespoon) of dry mustard is adequate (and I do like mustard). I used fresh halibut that my son caught on an Alaskan fishing trip and followed the recipe as written with two exceptions: The mustard quantity and I used fat free sour cream (which I always cook with) - outside of the overwhelming mustard flavor, the only other complaint with the recipe is the cooking time. It does take a little longer to bake than what is allotted. I bake in a convection oven and the pieces on the outside of the dish were warm and the center still barely above room temp. I baked a little longer, but still found the fish not to be quite done - it should flake with a fork. Remembering a lesson previously learned from a chef when broiling halibut filets, I put this dish in the microwave for a minute, checked it and then one more minute, until the fish was done. If you find you need a little more time when fixing this recipe, try the microwave method just to finish cooking, but be sure not to overcook any fish as it will be dry/rubbery. Overall, with the modifications this has potential to be a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Not a winner with us. I reduced the mustard and skipped the fried onions altogether. Also used light ingredients. Mine came out with 2 totally different layers. The sour cream on top and a ton of liquid almost boiling the fish underneath. It was weird. Won't be a repeat in our house. I prefer the Heavenly Halibut receipe we use or using the Lemon Steamed Fish Packets receipe (both posted here).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States