Halibut Divine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I had this dish last night. It was very easy to prepare and the taste was very good. I do intend to have it again, however I think the next time I will not put as much dry mustard in the recipe. It made the taste too spicy. Halibut is a very flavorful fish on its own and if it has too much spicy taste, it takes away from the true taste of the fish. I concur with the reviews that I read that said not to use the amount of dry mustard that was in the instructions but I didn't know if that would take away from the flavor. NOW I AM A BELIEVER. That's why it is so nice to be able to read opinions of people who have already tried the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I was VERY skeptical because of the sour cream ~ halibut is practically a delicacy since we get it so rarely around here ~ I hate to waste it BUT this turned out great. I used a couple more TBLS of parm. chese and half the french fried onions ~this turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
I really liked this dish and my husband just loved it. Perhaps the previous reviewer just got some bad halibut to start with if it tasted fishy. I would definitely make this again. The only thing I would do differently is to use a bit less dry mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Made this dish the other evening and I have to say I was surprised. It was absolutely delicious and will definitely be having it again. It was very simple to prepare and as i said very delicious.I read a couple of reviews before making it and the only alteration to the recipe was instead of 3 tablespoons of dry mustard i only used 2 teaspoons, This recipe is a "must try" and comes highly recommended so give it a try and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J Burr
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe would move from ** to **** with 1 1/2 T Dry Mustard rather than 3 T. It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Burr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snow Lake, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I gave this five stars and I don't really like fish. I made this because my wife loves halibut. I made this exactly like the recipe says and it was REALLY good. It tasted like a meal at a fancy restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! So easy and so yummy. I will make this for years. Elegant and classy. Great for guests. The one reviewer that thought it was "too fishy"- it was definitely their fish. My thoughts and prayers are with everyone in New Orleans. Please donate and help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Not a winner with us. I reduced the mustard and skipped the fried onions altogether. Also used light ingredients. Mine came out with 2 totally different layers. The sour cream on top and a ton of liquid almost boiling the fish underneath. It was weird. Won't be a repeat in our house. I prefer the Heavenly Halibut receipe we use or using the Lemon Steamed Fish Packets receipe (both posted here).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
tried this last night ,i have to say i was a bit nervious about it but it was outstanding. change nothing and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIRDDOG95370

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
tasted great to me and everyone said it was good but not all of it got eaten.hmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States