Halibut Divine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I was looking for fish recipes that can be adjusted to lower cholesterol and salt. I omitted the salt, butter and used light sour cream. Because of the previous comments I used the 3Tbs of mustard but twice the fish (I didn't increase the oil either). The mustard was just enough for the amount of fish (2 Lbs Scrod). Increase cooking time to 30 minutes if you increase the fish to 2 lbs. Although adjusted for our requirements, guess what! It was a delicious recipe for two boomers that need to do what our Dr's tell us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
They don't sell French's Fried Onions in Canada...so I made some myself using another recipe on the site. This stuff is AWESOME, and a great way to use fresh halibut -for the price it goes at, anyways- we will be making this again...try adding extra cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Whoa, this recipe is like an exercise to see how much fat you can put atop some fish. Therefore, of course it's delicious! I took heed of fellow reviewers and only used 1 tablespoon of dry mustard. I think I could have added another 1/2 and it would have still worked. I think the full amount would end up bitter though. The whole family loved it. "This can't be good for us" my husband exclaimed and the 4 year old had seconds. I was lucky enough to get to lick the serving spoon clean after scraping the pan. Naughty, but darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I felt that even with half the mustard, the mustard taste was WAY overpowering. If you do not love mustard, don't try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Yes you do need to cut way back on the mustard. Used 1/3 of what was stated. This was okay, nothing special. I will stick to my Halibut Olympia recipe. Not a repeat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Yes, believe what you read...less mustard. I made the mistake of reading the reviews AFTER I made the dish... As I was adding the mustard, I was thinking "Wow this is a lot." My kids wouldn't touch it, but with only 1T I bet they would have gobbled it down. Even too much for us parents, and we love spicy food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Very good. I took the advice from some other reviews and reduced the dry mustard to 1-1/2T. My husband even loved it and he's picky about fish. I'm guessing this would be good with any mild, white fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAF1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Easy to make, I will use less mustard the next time. My wife liked it better than I did but it is still a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
A fine tasty dish! I used wholegrain mustard instead and it was delicious. I will definitely be making this wonderful recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J Burr
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe would move from ** to **** with 1 1/2 T Dry Mustard rather than 3 T. It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Burr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snow Lake, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States