Halibut Divine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Best fish i ever had.i love fish and eat it often.i used cod fish and left it in one piece,i used regular mustard in a jar about 1 tbl. and melted the butter.then on top of the sour cream and cheese i put butter cookie crumb and baked it at 365 for 35 min. perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Sorry, but this was not good for us at all. I followed the recipe exactly except for 2 things that should not have affected the final outcome - 1 tbs of dry mustard and used Tilapia, a very mild white fish. I reduced the dry mustard to 1 TBS and it was still too strong. I baked for nearly 30 minutes and the fish was still not done, had to nuke it to completely cook it thru. The olive oil/butter floated to the top so it looked a little greasy too. Sorry, won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The halibut stays nice and moist but the mustard adds a flavor that is too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This stuff is really good. Everyone enjoyed it. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I didn't care for the flavors in this dish at all. I don't know if there was too much dry mustard or what. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
It was SUPER runny, which I didn't expect, but everyone thought it was delicious! I took the advice of everyone and I used half the dry mustard. I doubled the recipe and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Made this dish the other evening and I have to say I was surprised. It was absolutely delicious and will definitely be having it again. It was very simple to prepare and as i said very delicious.I read a couple of reviews before making it and the only alteration to the recipe was instead of 3 tablespoons of dry mustard i only used 2 teaspoons, This recipe is a "must try" and comes highly recommended so give it a try and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was very good. Per other reviewers, I only used 2 tbs mustard (my husband thought could have used less but I liked it this way) and only a few tbs of sour cream. Also, instead of cutting up the halibut, I used the full fillet for a prettier presentation. Didn't have the fried onions... so I made onion rings instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This recipe calls for 3 Tablespoons of Dry Mustard, as the other reviews suggested, I cut back on the amount but not enough. One Teaspoon (not tablespoon) of dry mustard is adequate (and I do like mustard). I used fresh halibut that my son caught on an Alaskan fishing trip and followed the recipe as written with two exceptions: The mustard quantity and I used fat free sour cream (which I always cook with) - outside of the overwhelming mustard flavor, the only other complaint with the recipe is the cooking time. It does take a little longer to bake than what is allotted. I bake in a convection oven and the pieces on the outside of the dish were warm and the center still barely above room temp. I baked a little longer, but still found the fish not to be quite done - it should flake with a fork. Remembering a lesson previously learned from a chef when broiling halibut filets, I put this dish in the microwave for a minute, checked it and then one more minute, until the fish was done. If you find you need a little more time when fixing this recipe, try the microwave method just to finish cooking, but be sure not to overcook any fish as it will be dry/rubbery. Overall, with the modifications this has potential to be a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Not a winner with us. I reduced the mustard and skipped the fried onions altogether. Also used light ingredients. Mine came out with 2 totally different layers. The sour cream on top and a ton of liquid almost boiling the fish underneath. It was weird. Won't be a repeat in our house. I prefer the Heavenly Halibut receipe we use or using the Lemon Steamed Fish Packets receipe (both posted here).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States