Halibut Divine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
The overall flavor was good; however, I feel that you can find a tastier way to prepare halibut. In my opinion the dry mustard did not overpower the fish. On the other hand, this recipe calls for too much sour cream and that makes for a rich and slightly heavy sauce that detracts from the delicateness of halibut. I tried making my own french fried onions - soaked in milk, dredged in flour and then pan fried with a little canola oil... I think this helped. One note on the cooking time - mine bake for 35 minutes in a covered enamel french oven and needed every bit of that time to fully cook. This recipe was worth trying once, but to me the price of fresh halibut is too expensive and the results of this recipe too underwhelming to want to give it another go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Ok, this is AWESOME! I also only used 2 tbls of mustard. I used an electronic thermomater which I think you need because it took more like 25 minutes. i used cheddar flavored onions, too. My husband said it's my best meal ever!!!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Used only 1 T. of mustard, and cooked a little longer. Made it with Flounder for the first time. Will be making this again, and again. Loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
tasted great to me and everyone said it was good but not all of it got eaten.hmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Loved it but next time would definitly cook much long and put in less mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by airbornemama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
My family really liked this dish. We normally grill all of the fish we eat. This was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misham
Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Outstanding! I did as other suggested, and decreased the dry mustard. The only other change I made was to use panko rather than the fried onion rings, just because I discovered my last can had been used! My boyfriend is usually the one who cooks fish for us, and he raved about this dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
LOVE this recipe! It's easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Yummy. I used twice the cheese, half the butter, a little less oil, and less mustard (1 TSP). I served it with mashed potatoes and broccoli; the sauce was really yummy on the potatoes! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Love, love, love this! We live in some of the best halibut catching waters in the world, so are always looking for new ways to eat halibut. I try not to change recipes until I've tried them at least once, but I didn't have any dry mustard, so I used 1 tablespoon Old Bay instead. My husband said this was his favorite halibut recipe EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by popolover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States