Halibut Divine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
They don't sell French's Fried Onions in Canada...so I made some myself using another recipe on the site. This stuff is AWESOME, and a great way to use fresh halibut -for the price it goes at, anyways- we will be making this again...try adding extra cheese :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Whoa, this recipe is like an exercise to see how much fat you can put atop some fish. Therefore, of course it's delicious! I took heed of fellow reviewers and only used 1 tablespoon of dry mustard. I think I could have added another 1/2 and it would have still worked. I think the full amount would end up bitter though. The whole family loved it. "This can't be good for us" my husband exclaimed and the 4 year old had seconds. I was lucky enough to get to lick the serving spoon clean after scraping the pan. Naughty, but darn good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I felt that even with half the mustard, the mustard taste was WAY overpowering. If you do not love mustard, don't try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Yes you do need to cut way back on the mustard. Used 1/3 of what was stated. This was okay, nothing special. I will stick to my Halibut Olympia recipe. Not a repeat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Yes, believe what you read...less mustard. I made the mistake of reading the reviews AFTER I made the dish... As I was adding the mustard, I was thinking "Wow this is a lot." My kids wouldn't touch it, but with only 1T I bet they would have gobbled it down. Even too much for us parents, and we love spicy food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Very good. I took the advice from some other reviews and reduced the dry mustard to 1-1/2T. My husband even loved it and he's picky about fish. I'm guessing this would be good with any mild, white fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAF1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Easy to make, I will use less mustard the next time. My wife liked it better than I did but it is still a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
A fine tasty dish! I used wholegrain mustard instead and it was delicious. I will definitely be making this wonderful recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J Burr
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This recipe would move from ** to **** with 1 1/2 T Dry Mustard rather than 3 T. It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Burr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snow Lake, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I had this dish last night. It was very easy to prepare and the taste was very good. I do intend to have it again, however I think the next time I will not put as much dry mustard in the recipe. It made the taste too spicy. Halibut is a very flavorful fish on its own and if it has too much spicy taste, it takes away from the true taste of the fish. I concur with the reviews that I read that said not to use the amount of dry mustard that was in the instructions but I didn't know if that would take away from the flavor. NOW I AM A BELIEVER. That's why it is so nice to be able to read opinions of people who have already tried the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States