Halibut Divine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
pretty good. Reminds me of newburg sauce. Used 1/2 mustard and panko not friend onions. Next time i'll add green onion to the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I was surprised at how good this was. I wound up using half dry mustard and half Dijon - all I had - but the result was really, really good. My one complaint is that the recipe itself has such bold flavor that it seemed a shame to waste it on fish that's $11/lb, when it would have been just as good with cod or some other $3/lb fish. Lesson learned for next time, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I used 2T of dry mustard and though 1.5T would've allowed the halibut flavor show through more, I still think it delicious. This is obvious, but if you can't eat it immediately out of the oven, then add the french onions later when you reheat. So good. Other minor changes: more cheese and only enough sour cream to cover the fish. I "tasted" more than I meant to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mattnc24
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Very good recipe, I only used of of the dry mustard since most comments said it was strong. We loved it. Great new way to eat fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Horrible! Don't waste your lovely halibut on this mess! Far too much mustard and sauce overwhelms fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Really really GOOD S**T!! I fallowed the advice and used less mustard only about 1 table spoon. Little more cheese and fried onions. This recipe with help me get though all the Halibut i brought back from Alaska.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I wish I had read the reviews first. 3 tbsp seemed like a lot of mustard, but I always try to make a recipe as written the first time. I think that 1 tbsp (3 tsp) would be better. 20-25 minutes @ 350F cooked it well. It's not bad, but is very mustard-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Tried this last night and concur with the reviews that mention too much mustard. Way too much. Also didn't like the consistency of the dish with the sour cream. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is a great way to make "plain old fish" taste different and elegant (my first criteria in a fish recipe!). Even my guests love it! I made as-written, using Hawaiian Opa or Ono, good with Mahi Mahi also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
The overall flavor was good; however, I feel that you can find a tastier way to prepare halibut. In my opinion the dry mustard did not overpower the fish. On the other hand, this recipe calls for too much sour cream and that makes for a rich and slightly heavy sauce that detracts from the delicateness of halibut. I tried making my own french fried onions - soaked in milk, dredged in flour and then pan fried with a little canola oil... I think this helped. One note on the cooking time - mine bake for 35 minutes in a covered enamel french oven and needed every bit of that time to fully cook. This recipe was worth trying once, but to me the price of fresh halibut is too expensive and the results of this recipe too underwhelming to want to give it another go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States