Halibut Cheeks with Ginger-Orange Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Wow! Tasty,quick and easy. No cilantro at home, so used italian parsley. Make sure fish are very dry before going in the pan - extra moisture adds to the time to thicken the sauce and leads to leathery fish. Well, as leathery as halibut cheeks can get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I substituted tangerines plus Meyer Lemon juice, in lieu of oranges and it was still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Really good. I used tilapia instead as I can't get good, fresh halibut in FL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was fantastic!!! Healthy too! Simple, easy, quick. I can see myself making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! This is the first time I have recommended a dish in years of allrecipe use - it is a must try! We used Halibut steaks and cooked them in the pan without the red pepper flakes. After we took out the fish, we added the chili flakes to the pan and reduced the sauce. We ate the fish with the sauce and our kids were happy to go sauceless. Our 1 and 3 year old gobbled up the fish (truly gobbled - our 1 year old had 3rds!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by household maven
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This is an outstanding recipe! I added a tsp of orange zest and an extra Tbs of fresh squeezed OJ and it was dynamite! Served with black rice drizzled with sesame oil and snap peas, a new favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Oh my this is SOOOO good!! Halibut is expensive but its wonderful in this recipe! Perfect paired with some brown rice! I used frozen halibut fillets that i thawed out and it was magnificent! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERKATIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was an excellant dish! Quick simple and very easy! Taste was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCSnyder
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Another winner in my opinion. You do have to be nutty about the cooking time however. No more than 3 or 4 minutes if you want tender Halibut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Wow! So good and so easy. I was halfway through mixing up the sauce when I realized I was out of cilantro so I left it out and it was still great. I didn't measure everything exactly so I know I was a little heavy on the ginger and garlic but we like it that way. I also used tilapia instead of halibut, we love it but fresh halibut is just too expensive for an everyday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States