Halibut Cheeks with Ginger-Orange Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I must be missing something here, but this sauce did not taste good at all. The orange didn't pair right with the ginger, sesame, cilantro and soy. I just couldn't palette it. Was so acidic. So I just took out the orange and made it again. MUCH BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick Humes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by callumkf555
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is without a doubt one of the tastiest, simplest, greatest dishes I've ever cooked, hats off to whatever chef concocted this little beauty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
We are lucky to have a local source of "cheeks". I have prepared them using many recipes. These are quick, healthy and so delish! I added more cilantro!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This is really delicious! Recommend doubling the sauce (or more) as it's really good over rice served with the fish. Awesome and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Amazing. Unique combination of flavors. This is now one of our all-time favorite halibut recipes. I didn't have halibut cheeks so just used a regular filet. The first time I made it I used vegetable oil because I didn't have sesame oil. It was very good -- but the second time I used sesame oil and could taste a big difference. I wouldn't recommend substitutions with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Wowie! Delicious! Just the right blend of spices and flavors. Not too sweet, not too spicy. I rarely use fresh cilantro or ginger because they go bad (and waste money), so I used the jarred spice versions and still delicious. I boiled the sauce on the stove, added a pinch of cornstarch to thicken the sauce just a tiny bit, grilled halibut steaks and spooned the sauce over them. Couldn't believe "I" made this gourmet dish! Tasted beyond my skill level. Would be a great dish for "company" - will impress! Succulent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Great! I made it as written (which is the only way to rate it) and my only suggestion is to make more! I made a lot more (2 kids, 2 adults) to drizzle on our wild rice blend and steamed cauliflower and it was fantastic. My 3 yr old enjoyed helping make it too, since it gets put together in the bowl first. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This dish was great. I used Talapia rather than Halibut. I made the sauce ahead and kept it in the freezer. Made for an great no fuss fish dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I am in LOVE with this recipie, the first time I made it the whole family was silent through out the whole dinner. Ha ha, we were all too busy eating this wonderful dish. I made no changes to it whatsoever, love it just the way it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Yum! Used this sauce with Mahi Mahi and it turned out great! So easy, fast and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States