Half-hour Pudding Cake ( Montreal Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Tried this and it was ok, but knew I had a similiar recipe that I liked better. So, I searched it out and it has 1/2 c butter added to the batter, as well as an additional tsp of baking powder and increase the sugar to 1/2 cup as well. No vanilla and no butter in the sauce. Makes a much fluffier cake. Definitely worth the extra calories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I was looking for something to make for breakfast with the ingredients we have in stock that would be a nice change from oatmeal/cold cereal. This was delicious and I will be making it again, soon! I didn't have white sugar, so I used brown instead. I added vanilla and as suggested, cinnamon. For the top, I used hot water, like was suggested, out of my Keurig coffee maker, but only used one cup instead of two. I added 2 tablespoons of butter to the water and brown sugar mixture. We had this hot and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Always an easy one to make and a family favorite. To enhance the flavor, try adding 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and 1/8 tsp of nutmeg to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This is like the pudding my Grandmother used to make. In rual Ontario. She always added raisins. I make it to this day. Sure brings back a lot of good memories. Another fantastic Canadian memory. Keep them coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
For the French-Canadians out there this is your basic "Pouding Chomeur" recipe (though my childhood memories of this did not include raisins). Very yummy and decadent with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Liked the flavor of the sauce, but was disappointed with the texture of the cake. One reviewer indicated it was important to bake this in the proper size dish to avoid "rubbery" texture to the cake, so maybe the end results were my fault. I probably won't try this again unless I'm just really wanting something to satisfy my sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I love this recipe from way back but a few years ago had to cut way back on my sugar intake due to a diagnosis of reactive hypoglycemia, so I used splenda in place of the sugar in the batter and replaced the full cup of brown sugar in the sauce with a half of cup of splenda and a half a cup of brown sugar instead. It turned out just great and I am so happy to still be able to enjoy this dessert!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was my favourite dessert growing up - it's to die for! A nice alternative to bread pudding - less heavy and dreamy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I would say this tasted just the way it's supposed to. It's a Canadian classic. Great served warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Good recipe but the sauce was way too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States