Half-hour Pudding Cake ( Montreal Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
It was good, and easy. A good dessert in a pinch. The sauce was a little too sweet, but I may have been careless with my measurements. I might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Nothing wrong with this recipe at all. It turned out perfect and plain delicious. I noticed that most of the problems relate to the sauce being runny. YOU JUST HAVE TO WAIT AND LET IT COOL! IT WILL THICKEN. Also, when you spoon the batter into the dish, use the dish size indicated in the recipe because it should be a fairly thin layer of batter or else it will turn out rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Giza, Al-Jizah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Loved it! The first time I made it, it came out a little bland. The next time I addes some salt to the batter and it was simply perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I haven't seen this recipe in years. It's a great dessert for a family supper. I added vanilla to the batter as well as the sauce. Don't be alarmed by the look of this when you pour the sauce over top - it's very sloshy, but it does turn out nicely. Serve warm or cold, not hot, if you want the sauce to thicken up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
none
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Very good recipe! I used soy milk instead of regular milk and it turned out very nice...especially the sauce. At first I was concerned about the watery consistency before baking...but the finished product was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeborahVictoria
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Fantastic hot with vanilla ice cream. Just like dad used to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Very traditional dessert at home. My husband was very very happy with it, as it is the same as his mother used to make. She loved it too. Made it multiple times and will again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was my favourite dessert growing up - it's to die for! A nice alternative to bread pudding - less heavy and dreamy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I love this recipe from way back but a few years ago had to cut way back on my sugar intake due to a diagnosis of reactive hypoglycemia, so I used splenda in place of the sugar in the batter and replaced the full cup of brown sugar in the sauce with a half of cup of splenda and a half a cup of brown sugar instead. It turned out just great and I am so happy to still be able to enjoy this dessert!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States