Half-hour Pudding Cake ( Montreal Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2000
There seemed to be too much sauce until it cooled off overnight. Tasted good, esp. with icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
It was good, and easy. A good dessert in a pinch. The sauce was a little too sweet, but I may have been careless with my measurements. I might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
given all the problems people have making it, including me, yuck, doesnt come out well... I advise just not making it unless you're really convinced you want to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I haven't seen this recipe in years. It's a great dessert for a family supper. I added vanilla to the batter as well as the sauce. Don't be alarmed by the look of this when you pour the sauce over top - it's very sloshy, but it does turn out nicely. Serve warm or cold, not hot, if you want the sauce to thicken up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
My mom use to make one, this is not it. The sauce was very runny and the crust rubbery. I won't waste my time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOMESTICGODDESS36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I was in the mood for a pudding type cake so I tried this one. I would like to say that with most types of sauces unless they have a heavy amount of a thickening agent in them ie. flour, cornstarch...they will usually thicken as they cool which is the case with this sauce. It 'did' in fact thicken with cooling. I would recommend adding a pinch of salt somewhere for flavor balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
This is a "take-off" on the Betty Crocker's Picture Cook Book recipe from 1950. The original has different ingredient amounts which change the consistancy of the finished pudding cake with much better results. The original is actually easier to make as well, since you just sprinkle the brown sugar and cocoa ontop of the first layer then pour hot water over the entire mixture before you pop it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Nana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
none
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
I added some nutmeg, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This is the only dessert recipe that I have had to throw away from this site. There was far too much "syrup" and the cake topping was hard like a sweet bagel/bread roll. I am sorry to say that I shall not be making this again, I really thought that it would be better than it turned out. Perhaps the syrup needs to be halved?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States