Half-hour Pudding Cake ( Montreal Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Loved it! The first time I made it, it came out a little bland. The next time I addes some salt to the batter and it was simply perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Very good recipe! I used soy milk instead of regular milk and it turned out very nice...especially the sauce. At first I was concerned about the watery consistency before baking...but the finished product was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeborahVictoria
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I found it to be a very strange dessert and mine came out tasting like pancakes with maple syrup as sauce, which was not expected at all. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Very traditional dessert at home. My husband was very very happy with it, as it is the same as his mother used to make. She loved it too. Made it multiple times and will again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I was intrigued by this recipe. Who can say no to pudding cake? Since I've never heard of half-hour pudding cake, I have nothing to compare it to. I made the recipe following the directions and measurements EXACTLY. I chose to use golden raisins in the recipe for appearance. The consistency and taste of the batter was a bit off-putting at first, but I understood that the sauce provides the flavor and the cake has to be thick in order to soak up the sauce and not fall apart. The sauce thickened a little about 30 mins. after the cake was removed from the oven. I'm not a big fan of this cake. It's like a big pancake soaked in syrup. This cake is good to make if you are craving something sweet and want something easy and quick to make with ingredients that you most likely already have in your cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Nothing wrong with this recipe at all. It turned out perfect and plain delicious. I noticed that most of the problems relate to the sauce being runny. YOU JUST HAVE TO WAIT AND LET IT COOL! IT WILL THICKEN. Also, when you spoon the batter into the dish, use the dish size indicated in the recipe because it should be a fairly thin layer of batter or else it will turn out rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Giza, Al-Jizah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This was super sweet. It reminded me of the simple baked goods that my French-Canadian Grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Fantastic hot with vanilla ice cream. Just like dad used to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
not my favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This wasn't good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States