Half and Halfs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
These cookies are great! I was a little worried because the base isn't my usual cookie base, but these are great! I followed the recipe to a tee, except I baked from 8-10 min at 350, per prior reviews. I found it easiest to "plop" all of the vanilla cookie dough on the sheet first because it was a little more wet. Then, I plopped the choc cookie dough beside and and molded the seams. Thanks for a great cookie recipe! *UPDATE* Still AMAZING! I froze half and thawed a week later for a family get together and they will as delicious as they were fresh. This is my new "go to" cookie recipe. *UPDATE #2* I just made these again and wanted to add the recipe as is made 42 "half & half" cookies + 6 all chocolate (umm, I ate some of the "white" dough :)). I figured out what's so great about the consistency, too...they don't fall! They stay exactly the same as when you take them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: Be sure to put together both batters at the same time. No sense in getting the flour& other ingred. out twice! I like using 1/8t of baking powder in each batter b/c it allows you to shape it to the thickness you want because when it bakes, it will not flatten much at all but stay how you want. Great way to ensure your cookies won't go flat! Also, I take my smallest scooper and drop one on the cookie sheet, then combine the FLAT/BOTTOM sides together. Easiest way to mold the two together. If you use the baking sheet as your surface then FLIP the cookie over ...the side that was touching the sheet will be nice and smooth. Definitely raise your temp to 350. What's nice about this recipe is each cookie cooks at the exact same consistency so one side never turns out flatter or overcooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This is a good basic chocolate chip cookie. It earned its five star rating for the novelty. I did increase the temp to 350º. Next time I will use my favorite recipe which is Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie. Thanks for sharing your idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
YUMMY!! Made exactly as written...but increased cooking temp. to 350 (baked for 9 minutes). To form the cookies, I made small balls out of both types of dough. I placed the 'plain' ball on the cookie sheet, then placed a double chocolate one on top of those, pressed down slightly; then turned it on its side, pressing down slightly again. Very tasty...this concept could be done w/ all sorts of cookies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
5***** stars for the concept alone! I did alter the recipe to match my favorite cookie recipes. The reg chocolate chip part I did 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 cup white sugar, and 3/4 cup softened butter. The chocolate choc chip I did 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp baking powder, and 1/2 tsp salt. The rest I left the same and did semi-sweet choc chips in both. Absolutely delicous and nice and big and puffy. I always add in baking powder to my cookies to guarantee they wont flatten. I think it is easier to drop the choc chip scoops directly onto the baking sheet then drop the choc choc chip scoop right next to it and gently mold it together with your hands. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
These cookies were so much fun to make and it was even more fun to see peoples reactions to them. They make a good presentation. Kids just thought they were the coolest. I did have to adjust the oven temp. I baked them at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
these are sooo good! not flat at all, they are puffy, soft and oh so goood! family LOVED these.. 5 stars for the idea, 4.5 stars for taste. perfect texture! yumm thanks for the recipe! (didnt change a thing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Great idea, fun cookies. My substitution was to use shortening. The family thought they were cute and gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Recipe is much easier to do than the directions sound. Making the 2 different doughs at the same time is quick. Then just grab a little of both and put onto the sheet. I used white chips in the chocolate dough for a nice contrast in color and flavor. These are great hot out of the oven with a scoop of ice cream, fudge sauce, whipped cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Made this as is and was pretty good--however, I think it would be better with white chips in the chocolate half and chocolate chips in the plain half---I will try that next time. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States