Half and Halfs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I'm giving these 4 stars because the taste is great, but a little more work than I like to do all the time for a cookie! I did use white chips in the chocolate side of the cookie and increased the oven temp to 350 and they turned out much better! I will make these again, just not an everyday cookie for me! Thanks for the great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
My daughter picked this recipe out. What a fun concept. Tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
The flavor seemed a little "un-sweet" to me, so I sprinkled them with powdered sugar before and after baking. The temperature was low, so had to raise it to 350 - cooked for 14 minutes per batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Pretty good. A little time consuming to make but not too bad. Something seemed to be lacking in the dough - maybe it needed that extra 1/4 cup of sugar? Maybe it's because I mixed all the dough at one time. Then I added 1 cup of coarsely chopped macadamias (1/2 cup probably would have been better). Then I divided the dough, added the cocoa to one half, and added 3/4 cup white chocolate chips to the chocolate half and 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips to the other half. I used a mini ice cream scoop for both halves and pushed the seems together. I needed to bake at 350º for about 14 mins. and got almost 4 dozen cookies. I plan to make again next week for a fund raiser I need to bake for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
absolutely fantastic!! they were gone in a day! A big hit with all the little kids on my street great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I baked these at 350 for 12-14 minutes, which is longer than average, because I think my oven is weak. These cookies are really fun to make with a partner! You can each be in charge of one mixing bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I loved the idea of it and they came out as really yummy cookies. But for some reason my family hasn't gobbled them up, some in my family have only eaten the one side, and left the other uneaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I only made two changes...I added 1/2 teasp baking powder in addition to the 1/4 baking soda and I used Chocolate Chunks on the chocolate side. The BEST cookie I have ever made....they were so big and fluffy. I did put them down on the cookie sheet and first and then seal the seam. Thanks SO much for sharing. They were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
These cookies are great! I was a little worried because the base isn't my usual cookie base, but these are great! I followed the recipe to a tee, except I baked from 8-10 min at 350, per prior reviews. I found it easiest to "plop" all of the vanilla cookie dough on the sheet first because it was a little more wet. Then, I plopped the choc cookie dough beside and and molded the seams. Thanks for a great cookie recipe! *UPDATE* Still AMAZING! I froze half and thawed a week later for a family get together and they will as delicious as they were fresh. This is my new "go to" cookie recipe. *UPDATE #2* I just made these again and wanted to add the recipe as is made 42 "half & half" cookies + 6 all chocolate (umm, I ate some of the "white" dough :)). I figured out what's so great about the consistency, too...they don't fall! They stay exactly the same as when you take them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
5***** stars for the concept alone! I did alter the recipe to match my favorite cookie recipes. The reg chocolate chip part I did 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 cup white sugar, and 3/4 cup softened butter. The chocolate choc chip I did 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp baking powder, and 1/2 tsp salt. The rest I left the same and did semi-sweet choc chips in both. Absolutely delicous and nice and big and puffy. I always add in baking powder to my cookies to guarantee they wont flatten. I think it is easier to drop the choc chip scoops directly onto the baking sheet then drop the choc choc chip scoop right next to it and gently mold it together with your hands. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States