Half and Halfs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
What a fun cookie! I added nuts to the chocolate chip side (only) to increase the contrast between the two halves. I rolled each half/color into a long snake (similar to the way you may have made/rolled Playdough snakes when you were a kid), then put/rolled the two cookie snakes together to combine them into one long half-n-half snake. Then, I sliced them (just as you would store-bought tube cookie dough) and baked 'em up. There were beautiful, different, and tasty. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These are really great. The only change I made was that I reduced the flour on the chocolate side by 1/4 cup so both doughs would be the same consistency. Very yummy and cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Definitely worth making, even though it's somewhat time consuming to shape them. The end result not only looks good, but tastes great as well! I doubled the recipe for Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies with slight modifications. Used 3.5 cups of flour and doubled everything else (also substituted margarine for butter). Split the dough in half, and then added 1/4 cup cocoa powder to one portion, and 1/4 cup AP flour to the other portion. Then mixed in 2/3 cup of dark chocolate chips into the cocoa half, and 2/3 cup of semi-sweet chips into the regular half. After refrigerating the dough for 30 minutes, I rolled them into 1.5" dough balls, molded each piece into half-circles and pushed the different coloured pieces together to form a full circle. Baked at 325F for 16 minutes. Make sure to leave space between each cookie because they expand. The cookies come out super soft and gooey (which I LOVE), but will harden when left to cool. With my changes, this recipe yields 43 large cookies (3" diameter). Very yummy! Recommend making this way; I hope these instructions will help someone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I intended to make about 90 for my class at university, but I guess my cookies are smaller than the maker of this recipe because I ended up with 168 cookies. But they are amazing so I shouldn't have any problem giving them away. The only change I made was using white chocolate chips in the chocolate half :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Wonderful recipe & very cute idea!!! This was my favorite time baking chocolate chip cookies from scratch & they came out perfect! I followed the recipe exactly except for baking @ 350 & adding 1/4 tsp. of baking powder to both mixes. I baked each batch for about 12 min. I just plopped the doughs next to each other on the baking sheet & formed w/ my fingers. My hubby, an avid baker, said they were the best chocolate chip cookies he's ever had!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butter-Bug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arnaudville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
The idea alone is a five star, the recipe a three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These cookies turned out great! My three teenage cookie testers gave them a thumbs up-make these again review. I did bake them for about 9-10 minutes at 350...otherwise I followed recipe. To bake at the lower temp. you would need to bake for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
AMAZING! I used smart balance margarine instead of regular butter for the health factor. I had to cook for about 12 minutes at 350 because of this, but otherwise I did everything like the directions! These taste even better than store bought batches! This is a great date night dessert to make b/c each person can make a separate batter, then put them together at the end :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I am a purest. Toll House Chocolate Chip Cookies are my one and only. However, during a moment of daring, I did try this recipe. I am in LOVE! What a terrific cookie. This will be a standby for bake sales, tailgate parties, and school lunches. It is now on my top 5 cookie recipe lists. Thanks for sharing a great cookie recipe. I did adjust my oven temperature, orginally to 350 degrees, but had to up it to 375 degrees to prevent too much spreading. Also used half butter, half margarine. Gave each dough mixture a 1/8 tsp. baking powder after my initial batch was a bit too flat for me (although I am not a "puffy" cookie person -- I am more of a soft & chewy cookie person). Next time I will use peanut butter chips in the chocolate cookie dough and semisweet in the "white" cookie dough (this time used semisweets in the whole recipe -- which was great). Try this one. I cannot imagine many cookie lovers would be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
These were very soft and fluffy. They were a little dry, which is why I'm only giving them 4-stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States