Half and Halfs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
5***** stars for the concept alone! I did alter the recipe to match my favorite cookie recipes. The reg chocolate chip part I did 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 cup white sugar, and 3/4 cup softened butter. The chocolate choc chip I did 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp baking powder, and 1/2 tsp salt. The rest I left the same and did semi-sweet choc chips in both. Absolutely delicous and nice and big and puffy. I always add in baking powder to my cookies to guarantee they wont flatten. I think it is easier to drop the choc chip scoops directly onto the baking sheet then drop the choc choc chip scoop right next to it and gently mold it together with your hands. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Very forgiving recipe. I got so excited that I had all the ingredients for the "regular" choc chip part of the recipe that I just tossed it all in a big bowl and stirred. Cookies came out great! Big ole golden brown rounds. I used this recipe to "get rid" of some peanut butter/chocolate chip "chips" that I had in my fridge. I also added pecans, and let me tell you, my 4yr old and 1 yr old ate them all up! Slightly sweeter than I'm used to, the dough could actually do with the quarter cup of white sugar mentioned in the ingred. list. Also, baking them at 350 IS the more efficient way. All in all, a great recipe, and a keeper. I'll do the half and half at Christmas for presentation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Fun idea. Only so-so tasting chocolate chip cookie half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Wonderful recipe, the whole family loved the cookies. My daughter and I had a lot of fun making these cookies too. We used white chocolate chips for the chocolate side and semi-sweet chocolate chips for the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Was I the only one to see the mistake in this recipe? For the first half of dough it states at the top, 1/4 cup of white suagr, but yet in the instructions, that changes to 1/2 cup. this threw me a little, but I just used 1/2 cup of white suagr and pretended that the 1/4 cup was just a typo. I only made the first recipe as I liked the proportions and I didn't wan't to do the whole half and half thing. I have to say, this is the most perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe I have ever made. I have been searching this site for the "perfect" chocolate chip cookie recipe for a long time now, and I FINALLY found it! I used rounded spoonfulls and baked them for ten minutes at 350, they were golden brown and PERFECT!!! It is almost impossible for me to find a recipe my husband and I both agree on. Thank you thank you thank you for this recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdoug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Wow!! These are certainly the best tasting cookies I have ever made. Soft but they don't fall apart. I cooked them at 350 for 8 minutes and they came out looking perfect (and tasting the same - time for a glass of milk!) Perfect when you can't decide between the two types of cookies... awesome idea, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Fun cookie that looks great when they come out of the oven! The milk chocolate chips make this a sweeter cookie than your regular chocolate chip cookie. I also turned the heat to 350 and baked 10 minutes which worked a lot better than 8-10 min at 300. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
These were definitely a hit! Slightly more difficult to make than a normal chocolate chip cookie, but worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haymarket, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This is a good basic chocolate chip cookie. It earned its five star rating for the novelty. I did increase the temp to 350º. Next time I will use my favorite recipe which is Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie. Thanks for sharing your idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Fun cookies!! I made the whole batch of dough then put the cocoa in half of it like a previous baker said. They were delish!!! My kids loved these cookies and they looked so cute, half chocolate and half vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States