Half and Halfs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This has recently become my husband's all time favorite cookie. I can't believe how simple this recipe truly is. I have to bake mine for 12 minutes, but I just noted that on my recipe. I had a little bit extra of the chocolate cookie dough, baked them alone, and those cookies are just as delicious. Softest chocolate chip recipe I have found in a while. I used semi-sweet chips in the "white" cookie and milk chocolate in the "brown" cookie. Very enjoyable, indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
These were very good & cool looking. After reading thru most of the reviews...here are my suggestions for great cookies: 350 for 8 min. (they came out perfect). Added: 1/4 t. baking powder to both batters, and upped the baking soda to 1/2 t., increased the white suger to 1/2 cup. Used my 1.5" cookie scoop and dropped white/chocolate balls onto cookie sheet---cut each in half and then put a white half and chocolate half together pressing into a oval type shape. They came out rounded. Everyone loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I added 1/4 cup flour to the vanilla batter so it would be of the same consistency as the chocolate batter (which had the extra 1/4 cup of cocoa powder added to it). I needed to refrigerate both batters for about 1/2 hour to firm it up a bit so I could drop them side by side and pat the top together to make it into one cookie. I took the advice of a reviewer and added 1/4 tsp. of baking powder to each cookie batter to help it puff up a bit. I baked the cookies at 350 for abouyt 12-14 minutes. When I took out my first batch after 10 minutes, the cookies were very soft and not as puffy, my next batch was in for about 12-14 minutes and they were firmer and puffier. (I also used smart balance margarine in place of the butter - so that could have been the reason why my batters were so soft and needed to be refrigerated, and the cookies needed to bake longer than other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: Be sure to put together both batters at the same time. No sense in getting the flour& other ingred. out twice! I like using 1/8t of baking powder in each batter b/c it allows you to shape it to the thickness you want because when it bakes, it will not flatten much at all but stay how you want. Great way to ensure your cookies won't go flat! Also, I take my smallest scooper and drop one on the cookie sheet, then combine the FLAT/BOTTOM sides together. Easiest way to mold the two together. If you use the baking sheet as your surface then FLIP the cookie over ...the side that was touching the sheet will be nice and smooth. Definitely raise your temp to 350. What's nice about this recipe is each cookie cooks at the exact same consistency so one side never turns out flatter or overcooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Soooooooooooooooooo gooooooooooooooooood worth going the extra and making two doughs. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaby Richmond-Reck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I was in the process of making my famous apple cake with cinnamon and nuts for a nice dessert, when I realized that my two nephews might not care for that kind of dessert. So I found the H & H's cookies, what a treat!!! They loved them. I them very easy to make, the dough came out very good. I cut back on the amount of chocolate chips to 1/2 cup and baked them closer to 10 minutes than eight (8). When my nephews left I put the "remaining" cookies in a Ziploc for them to enjoy in the car on their way to vacationing in Maine from Florida, passing through Connecticut to visit their uncle who always makes them a treat. These Half and Halfes were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Just pulled the first batch out of the oven. These are fabulous!! I used semisweet chips, CookinginFL's method of assembly and baked at 350 for 10 minutes. They taste great and are just too cute. Planning on making ice cream sandwiches with them, if I don't eat them all. The presentation factor and yumminess of two cookies in one was definitely worth the bit of extra time. My thanks for such a great recipe and to those who have been talking about it and posting photos of the cookies lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by Bake4fun
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I am giving 3 stars for the cookie, but would give 5 stars for the idea. I made them using Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe and Best Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe from this site. I halved both recipies. I am not sure why others said it was more work. I just put a spoon full of each on the pan and fit them together. They were easy and yummy. I would definately make this again with the other recipes (the second way I tried it). Look them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
YUMMY!! Made exactly as written...but increased cooking temp. to 350 (baked for 9 minutes). To form the cookies, I made small balls out of both types of dough. I placed the 'plain' ball on the cookie sheet, then placed a double chocolate one on top of those, pressed down slightly; then turned it on its side, pressing down slightly again. Very tasty...this concept could be done w/ all sorts of cookies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I don't really like chocolate chip cookies but these are fabulous!!! I did use white chips in the chocolate cookie part and the contrast of flavors was so good. I might just make these as regular chocolate chip cookies because they stayed so soft and chewy. Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States