Half and Halfs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Chef Joy
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS NOT MENTIONED: Be sure to put together both batters at the same time. No sense in getting the flour& other ingred. out twice! I like using 1/8t of baking powder in each batter b/c it allows you to shape it to the thickness you want because when it bakes, it will not flatten much at all but stay how you want. Great way to ensure your cookies won't go flat! Also, I take my smallest scooper and drop one on the cookie sheet, then combine the FLAT/BOTTOM sides together. Easiest way to mold the two together. If you use the baking sheet as your surface then FLIP the cookie over ...the side that was touching the sheet will be nice and smooth. Definitely raise your temp to 350. What's nice about this recipe is each cookie cooks at the exact same consistency so one side never turns out flatter or overcooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Soooooooooooooooooo gooooooooooooooooood worth going the extra and making two doughs. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I was in the process of making my famous apple cake with cinnamon and nuts for a nice dessert, when I realized that my two nephews might not care for that kind of dessert. So I found the H & H's cookies, what a treat!!! They loved them. I them very easy to make, the dough came out very good. I cut back on the amount of chocolate chips to 1/2 cup and baked them closer to 10 minutes than eight (8). When my nephews left I put the "remaining" cookies in a Ziploc for them to enjoy in the car on their way to vacationing in Maine from Florida, passing through Connecticut to visit their uncle who always makes them a treat. These Half and Halfes were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Just pulled the first batch out of the oven. These are fabulous!! I used semisweet chips, CookinginFL's method of assembly and baked at 350 for 10 minutes. They taste great and are just too cute. Planning on making ice cream sandwiches with them, if I don't eat them all. The presentation factor and yumminess of two cookies in one was definitely worth the bit of extra time. My thanks for such a great recipe and to those who have been talking about it and posting photos of the cookies lately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by Bake4fun
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I am giving 3 stars for the cookie, but would give 5 stars for the idea. I made them using Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe and Best Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe from this site. I halved both recipies. I am not sure why others said it was more work. I just put a spoon full of each on the pan and fit them together. They were easy and yummy. I would definately make this again with the other recipes (the second way I tried it). Look them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
YUMMY!! Made exactly as written...but increased cooking temp. to 350 (baked for 9 minutes). To form the cookies, I made small balls out of both types of dough. I placed the 'plain' ball on the cookie sheet, then placed a double chocolate one on top of those, pressed down slightly; then turned it on its side, pressing down slightly again. Very tasty...this concept could be done w/ all sorts of cookies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I don't really like chocolate chip cookies but these are fabulous!!! I did use white chips in the chocolate cookie part and the contrast of flavors was so good. I might just make these as regular chocolate chip cookies because they stayed so soft and chewy. Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I'm giving these 4 stars because the taste is great, but a little more work than I like to do all the time for a cookie! I did use white chips in the chocolate side of the cookie and increased the oven temp to 350 and they turned out much better! I will make these again, just not an everyday cookie for me! Thanks for the great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
My daughter picked this recipe out. What a fun concept. Tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
The flavor seemed a little "un-sweet" to me, so I sprinkled them with powdered sugar before and after baking. The temperature was low, so had to raise it to 350 - cooked for 14 minutes per batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States