Half and Halfs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I like these, I don't love them as much as other cookie recipes I've tried. The flavor is just pretty good, and I followed the recipe exactly. I made them into heart shapes for valentines day which was some work but that has nothing to do with the recipe. I followed the recipe exact too. And since they're a butter cookie I chilled the dough before baking so they wouldn't flatten out too much, that helped but they still stayed soft so I might like to try half shortening and half butter some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Great idea, fun cookies. My substitution was to use shortening. The family thought they were cute and gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made these today with every intention of following the recipe to the tee but half way through discovered I had no eggs :O I hate it when that happens!! Anyways i thought I would leave a review so that if anyone else is eggless they can know what I did. I ended up using some vanilla yogurt. They turned out okay, though maybe a little dense, I did have to increase the cooking time to about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
These are a very good cookie, I love that they don't deflate after being removed from the oven. Next time I make these I am going to put white choc. chips in the chocolate dough, just to change it up, also I will be decreasing the sugar in the chocolate dough to 1/4 cup white sugar, also I will increase the cocoa to about 1/2 cup (personal preferance) and if I do that I will also need to increase the butter by a Tbsp or 2. I think I may also try these with dark choc. chips. It is a great recipe, and a little different then the traditional choc. chip cookie, I just like to play around with things :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTAL88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
the best cookies in the world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
These were delicious! I found the double-chocolate dough to be not dark enough, so I added some melted chocolate chips until it turned into the color I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Really yummy and sweet. Did not change a thing about the recipe (no need to add baking powder, they were perfectly thick and chewy!) except for refrigerating the dough prior to assembling. Next time I may use semi-sweet chips as these cookies are VERY sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Loved it! Best part is I don't need so many so I just freeze the dough and next time it is quick and easy to make and bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Recipe is much easier to do than the directions sound. Making the 2 different doughs at the same time is quick. Then just grab a little of both and put onto the sheet. I used white chips in the chocolate dough for a nice contrast in color and flavor. These are great hot out of the oven with a scoop of ice cream, fudge sauce, whipped cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Very good cookie :) I made no changes to the recipe, other than that I made half the batch as is and the other half I rolled up pinwheel-style just because my boys love pinwheel-type cookies. A fun twist to a plain ol' chocolate chip cookie that will surely bring a smile to the faces of those you serve them to :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States