Half and Halfs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Pretty good. A little time consuming to make but not too bad. Something seemed to be lacking in the dough - maybe it needed that extra 1/4 cup of sugar? Maybe it's because I mixed all the dough at one time. Then I added 1 cup of coarsely chopped macadamias (1/2 cup probably would have been better). Then I divided the dough, added the cocoa to one half, and added 3/4 cup white chocolate chips to the chocolate half and 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips to the other half. I used a mini ice cream scoop for both halves and pushed the seems together. I needed to bake at 350º for about 14 mins. and got almost 4 dozen cookies. I plan to make again next week for a fund raiser I need to bake for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
absolutely fantastic!! they were gone in a day! A big hit with all the little kids on my street great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I baked these at 350 for 12-14 minutes, which is longer than average, because I think my oven is weak. These cookies are really fun to make with a partner! You can each be in charge of one mixing bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I loved the idea of it and they came out as really yummy cookies. But for some reason my family hasn't gobbled them up, some in my family have only eaten the one side, and left the other uneaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I only made two changes...I added 1/2 teasp baking powder in addition to the 1/4 baking soda and I used Chocolate Chunks on the chocolate side. The BEST cookie I have ever made....they were so big and fluffy. I did put them down on the cookie sheet and first and then seal the seam. Thanks SO much for sharing. They were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
These cookies are great! I was a little worried because the base isn't my usual cookie base, but these are great! I followed the recipe to a tee, except I baked from 8-10 min at 350, per prior reviews. I found it easiest to "plop" all of the vanilla cookie dough on the sheet first because it was a little more wet. Then, I plopped the choc cookie dough beside and and molded the seams. Thanks for a great cookie recipe! *UPDATE* Still AMAZING! I froze half and thawed a week later for a family get together and they will as delicious as they were fresh. This is my new "go to" cookie recipe. *UPDATE #2* I just made these again and wanted to add the recipe as is made 42 "half & half" cookies + 6 all chocolate (umm, I ate some of the "white" dough :)). I figured out what's so great about the consistency, too...they don't fall! They stay exactly the same as when you take them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
5***** stars for the concept alone! I did alter the recipe to match my favorite cookie recipes. The reg chocolate chip part I did 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 cup white sugar, and 3/4 cup softened butter. The chocolate choc chip I did 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp baking powder, and 1/2 tsp salt. The rest I left the same and did semi-sweet choc chips in both. Absolutely delicous and nice and big and puffy. I always add in baking powder to my cookies to guarantee they wont flatten. I think it is easier to drop the choc chip scoops directly onto the baking sheet then drop the choc choc chip scoop right next to it and gently mold it together with your hands. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Very forgiving recipe. I got so excited that I had all the ingredients for the "regular" choc chip part of the recipe that I just tossed it all in a big bowl and stirred. Cookies came out great! Big ole golden brown rounds. I used this recipe to "get rid" of some peanut butter/chocolate chip "chips" that I had in my fridge. I also added pecans, and let me tell you, my 4yr old and 1 yr old ate them all up! Slightly sweeter than I'm used to, the dough could actually do with the quarter cup of white sugar mentioned in the ingred. list. Also, baking them at 350 IS the more efficient way. All in all, a great recipe, and a keeper. I'll do the half and half at Christmas for presentation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Fun idea. Only so-so tasting chocolate chip cookie half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Wonderful recipe, the whole family loved the cookies. My daughter and I had a lot of fun making these cookies too. We used white chocolate chips for the chocolate side and semi-sweet chocolate chips for the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States