Half and Halfs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I don't really like chocolate chip cookies but these are fabulous!!! I did use white chips in the chocolate cookie part and the contrast of flavors was so good. I might just make these as regular chocolate chip cookies because they stayed so soft and chewy. Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I'm giving these 4 stars because the taste is great, but a little more work than I like to do all the time for a cookie! I did use white chips in the chocolate side of the cookie and increased the oven temp to 350 and they turned out much better! I will make these again, just not an everyday cookie for me! Thanks for the great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kari
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
My daughter picked this recipe out. What a fun concept. Tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
The flavor seemed a little "un-sweet" to me, so I sprinkled them with powdered sugar before and after baking. The temperature was low, so had to raise it to 350 - cooked for 14 minutes per batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Pretty good. A little time consuming to make but not too bad. Something seemed to be lacking in the dough - maybe it needed that extra 1/4 cup of sugar? Maybe it's because I mixed all the dough at one time. Then I added 1 cup of coarsely chopped macadamias (1/2 cup probably would have been better). Then I divided the dough, added the cocoa to one half, and added 3/4 cup white chocolate chips to the chocolate half and 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips to the other half. I used a mini ice cream scoop for both halves and pushed the seems together. I needed to bake at 350º for about 14 mins. and got almost 4 dozen cookies. I plan to make again next week for a fund raiser I need to bake for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
absolutely fantastic!! they were gone in a day! A big hit with all the little kids on my street great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I baked these at 350 for 12-14 minutes, which is longer than average, because I think my oven is weak. These cookies are really fun to make with a partner! You can each be in charge of one mixing bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I loved the idea of it and they came out as really yummy cookies. But for some reason my family hasn't gobbled them up, some in my family have only eaten the one side, and left the other uneaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I only made two changes...I added 1/2 teasp baking powder in addition to the 1/4 baking soda and I used Chocolate Chunks on the chocolate side. The BEST cookie I have ever made....they were so big and fluffy. I did put them down on the cookie sheet and first and then seal the seam. Thanks SO much for sharing. They were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
These cookies are great! I was a little worried because the base isn't my usual cookie base, but these are great! I followed the recipe to a tee, except I baked from 8-10 min at 350, per prior reviews. I found it easiest to "plop" all of the vanilla cookie dough on the sheet first because it was a little more wet. Then, I plopped the choc cookie dough beside and and molded the seams. Thanks for a great cookie recipe! *UPDATE* Still AMAZING! I froze half and thawed a week later for a family get together and they will as delicious as they were fresh. This is my new "go to" cookie recipe. *UPDATE #2* I just made these again and wanted to add the recipe as is made 42 "half & half" cookies + 6 all chocolate (umm, I ate some of the "white" dough :)). I figured out what's so great about the consistency, too...they don't fall! They stay exactly the same as when you take them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States