Half and Halfs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Good idea. When mixing them up I thought it was odd that they did not decrease the flour by 1/4 cup in the choc. part, since you add 1/4 cup cocoa. But I followed the recipe and baked the first few (after refrigerating both doughs for 1/2 hr) and the plain was clearly flattening out more than the choc. So added more flour and that helped a little. Will probably use my own choc. chip cookie recipe next time like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Fantastic! I used dark chocolate chips instead of milk and they were so rich. I did have to increase the baking time to 12-13min. They are easy yet impressive, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ray
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
These were really tasty and I love the concept. I substituted smart balance instead of the margarine and added 1/4 C extra flour to the white mixture to make the batters the same consistency as per another review, and I let the batter sit in the fridge for 15 minutes before using it to let it firm up a bit. The cookies spread a decent amount while baking. Also, many of them broke apart when I stored them in a plastic bag, so be sure to store them in a tupperware, I think it was because of the smart balance. Also, I served them dipped in a glass filled with half peanut butter mousse and half "easy chocolate mousse" (from this site). The presentation was really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
love these! I made them for Easter and they were very good, just different enough from regular chocolate chip cookies. They're moist and delicious, a little sandy in texture, which I liked, as did my family. Worth the extra bowl to wash. Thanks for sharing, I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very good cookies. I did use 1/2tsp b.powder and 1/2tsp b.soda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Perfect! My sister and I made these and used peanut butter chips instead of chocolate chips in the chocolate cookie dough. There was too much chocolate cookie dough, but that just made for a few chocolate cookies. We also shortened the baking time due to personal preference of a gooeyer cookie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Normally I wait until AFTER I take treats to work to rate the recipe based on coworkers reactions; however, I know these will be a hit! I followed directions exactly, even though I was tempted to "cheat" and just make up all the dough and then divide it out, add cocoa, and wahlah... However, I stuck to it and I'm glad I did. I decided to use milk chocolate/caramel swirl chips for the chocolate cookie half just to mix it up a bit. I baked at 350' for about 10 minutes. I would've baked longer, but I let them rest on the cookie sheet (lined w/ parchment) for 10 minutes, and that was perfect. **Technique: I found just grabbing two small dabs of each dough and rolling together just until they meld together worked PERFECTLY. Easy and fuss-free. I make small cookies... lots more to share, so it made almost 90-cute just-bigger-than-bite-sized-cookies. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Wow! These are really good cookies! They look so cool, and are easy to make. I used semisweet chocolate chips, because I was out of milk ones. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Great concept, decent cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
For home ec, my kids made these cookies. They had a blast making them, and they tasted fantastic! Definitely worth making again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States