Half Time Hoisin Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I am delighted to be the first to review Occasional Cooker's newly published recipe. I made these when it was still a personal recipe and here is my review: Occasional Cooker has a great recipe here! I did change the method by baking my wings in the oven first, without the sauce (this can even be done a day or two in advance), and then grilling them using the sauce as a basting/dipping sauce. Turned out great!! I used a product called Thai Chili Garlic Paste, which is really hot, so I did cut back on the amount and just added it to taste. I also used fresh ginger (3 times as much) for the dried. Hubs and I really enjoyed these and didn’t find them to be too sweet at all. Thank you, Occasional Cooker! This will be repeated for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I scaled this recipe down for just the two of us, and used breast and made boneless wings. I did marinate my breast tenders in a little bit of the sauce since white meat could dry out when baking. They cooked up nicely in 20 minutes. The sauce is wonderful and would taste great on just about anything, I would like to try some grilled salmon with it. Thanks Occasional Cook for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by Doubletigers
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I used chicken quaters since I didn't have wings. The sauce was perfect amount for 2 pieces of chicken quaters. I brushed the sauce over chicken every 15min. Baked it about 45 minutes until it reached 165F . Serve it with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doubletigers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Tried it for the first time today...Loved it. I reduced the sugar and used pineapple Teriyaki sauce instead. Didn't have the chile-garlic sauce so I used regular pepper flakes and added 1 more glove of garlic. I also like having my wings with sauce so instead of just basting it I threw the entire mixture over it and just let it slow bake. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
These were fabulous! Took them to a Super Bowl party and everyone loved them! So flavorful! I used Tyson frozen chicken wings and rinsed the ice glaze off before cooking- will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as stated, only I used drumsticks and thighs since I didn't have wings. This was very tasty. I also dialed down the chile sauce for my kids, but if it were for just me and my husband I would have added exactly what was indicated in the recipe. It helps if you turn up your oven the last 10 minutes of cooking to "crisp" up the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent dish! I loved how all the flavors came together. I used 2lbs of drumsticks & 2lbs of chicken thighs (skin removed) and there was more then enough sauce. If using drumsticks & thigh's use a baking sheet a little deeper, to collect the juice run off. Make sure you brush the sauce over chicken every 15min like the recipe calls for and it will caramelize perfectly! I also used pureed ginger instead of fresh & it also gave great flavour. This recipe would also work good on the BBQ. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrow, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I subsituted honey for the brown sugar. I used drumettes and dipped them in the sauce before placing on the cookie sheet. I poured the remainder sauce over them. I did not baste them. I cooked them for 40 minutes. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I made these for the Super bowl party and they went so fast I didn't even get ONE. ;-) I did add more pepper flakes for extra heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Took these wings to a Superbowl party on 2/2/14 to watch our Seahawks kick the Broncos' butts! Everyone loved the wings. I ran out of my chile/garlic sauce, so squirted in some Siracha. Could have used more, as the wings weren't spicy enough for me. But they sure are tasty. Also rather than laying the wings on the pan and then brushing them with sauce, I threw them all in a large bowl with the sauce and just bathed them in it. Knocked off the extra and laid them individually and already sauced on the pan. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States