Haitian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
We loved the hint of orange - delicious! We didn't have french bread so we used thick cut bread and it turned out fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
My whole family loves this recipe. I do make it a little bit differently. First, I tear up 12 slices of cinnamon swirl bread instead of the French bread and put into the 13x9 pan then I pour the cream mixture over the bread and stir until the bread soaks it up. Then I bake it in a 350 degree oven for 30-40 minutes, or until it is crisp. It is sooo yummy! I often make up a few and keep them uncooked in the freezer. When I am ready to use one, I pull it out and let it thaw and bake as normal! We have it every Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Terrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I don't eat french toast, but my daughter does and she enjoyed this. After the toasts were done, I added some butter and apricot preserves to the skillet to make a sauce. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was good, but I couldn't tell much difference between it and regular French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This is really good. It was actually better than I thought it would be! I didn't have quite enough cream, so I reduced the OJ by a little too, but kept the eggs and spices the same. I used a whole-grain artisian loaf and it looked really beautiful. I put just a touch of pure maple syrup on mine, but it would be good plain too. Served with thick-cut bacon and fresh peaches. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
My husband and brothers loved the taste of this french toast. Used a thick butter bread, brown sugar, sunny delight to the mix. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
My whole family loves this receipe. Very good. I followed the receipe exactly and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This is absolutely delicious! Easy, too. I had many requests for the recipe and we'll make this again and again. I agree, if I could give it more stars I would! Thanks! I don't know how my previous review got so few stars!! I intended to give it 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYCOOKER03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I love this recipe! My fiance and I both went on and on about it after I made it. Best of all, it was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megallyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I wish I could give this more than five stars. Absolutely delicious! I had a really stale baquette and just sliced it up and placed in the mixture. I love the idea of toasted coconut, will do that next time. This is going on an upcoming brunch I am planning with a Caribbean theme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States