Haitian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
My family didn't like the orange taste. I made it with regular bread. I put the mixture into a mixing bowl and soaked the bread in there. I thought doing that would be easier than whisking the egg & spices in a 13x9 pan, which it was. I could have used milk instead of heavy whipping cream, would have been less calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Syosset, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was quite good, and makes for a great morning "signature dish" for a bachelor. I used freshly squeezed tangerine juice, which gave it a nice, light flavor. The batter doesn't firm up much, so if you use another type of bread besides a baguette (I tried brioche), you may want to add an extra egg for structure. A touch of vanilla extract rounded out the flavor nicely, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
We loved the hint of orange - delicious! We didn't have french bread so we used thick cut bread and it turned out fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
My whole family loves this recipe. I do make it a little bit differently. First, I tear up 12 slices of cinnamon swirl bread instead of the French bread and put into the 13x9 pan then I pour the cream mixture over the bread and stir until the bread soaks it up. Then I bake it in a 350 degree oven for 30-40 minutes, or until it is crisp. It is sooo yummy! I often make up a few and keep them uncooked in the freezer. When I am ready to use one, I pull it out and let it thaw and bake as normal! We have it every Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Terrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I don't eat french toast, but my daughter does and she enjoyed this. After the toasts were done, I added some butter and apricot preserves to the skillet to make a sauce. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was good, but I couldn't tell much difference between it and regular French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This is really good. It was actually better than I thought it would be! I didn't have quite enough cream, so I reduced the OJ by a little too, but kept the eggs and spices the same. I used a whole-grain artisian loaf and it looked really beautiful. I put just a touch of pure maple syrup on mine, but it would be good plain too. Served with thick-cut bacon and fresh peaches. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
My husband and brothers loved the taste of this french toast. Used a thick butter bread, brown sugar, sunny delight to the mix. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
My whole family loves this receipe. Very good. I followed the receipe exactly and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This is absolutely delicious! Easy, too. I had many requests for the recipe and we'll make this again and again. I agree, if I could give it more stars I would! Thanks! I don't know how my previous review got so few stars!! I intended to give it 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYCOOKER03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States