Haitian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Awesome! I made this for a pot luck and all my friends thought it was amazing. I did however, cut the amount of orange juice by half so that it wouldn't be too fruity. It turned out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Absolutely delicious. I found the orange flavor to be very distinct. This is a sweet bread that is chewy around the edges and soft in the middle. Really simple and guaranteed to impress for company or any holiday breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This is the only french toast I will ever make. Sweet bread with a subtle tangy orange flavor is enough to satisfy me any morning. When I make this for my fiance he goes crazy, its definitely a keeper! Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I am not Haitian, but my boyfriend is completely, actually 2nd generation here in the states. I made these for him as a surprise before he went to a really important morning meeting at work. I made it *just* as directed in the recipe, added some strawberries on top, put it into a plastic box with silverware and sent him out the door. Before the meeting was even over, he as texting me with demands to know where the recipe comes from!! He LOVED it! And he is NOT a sweets person. This is a recipe I will use for a LONG time! Graci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Husband and daughter loved this. I kinda cheated and placed sliced french bread in oven at 200 degrees for 10 minutes instead of letting bread sit out for 4 hours, otherwise made as written. Served with syrup on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was sinful. OMG. I used fresh squeezed orange juice and added a bit of orange juice, probably about a tbsp. I served it with Homemade Pancake Syrup which is also from this site. My family and I were in french toast heaven. Wonderful recipe, just wonderful. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Made this for my son's 3rd birthday breakfast and got rave reviews!!! I had 9 people over for breakfast and so I used a Challah loaf (that I made from a recipe from this site) and I also used a half a loaf of store bought french bread and sliced both the night before. Everyone agreed that the Challah loaf made the better french toast. I also zested a half an orange. Yummy! Will definately do again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
The flavor was nice but mine came out super soggy! It is probably my fault because I used pre-packaged thick sliced french bread from the supermarket which was quite soft from the start. Next time I will try real french bread or just dip it instead of soaking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Didn't like the orange juice flavor. Underwhelming, I'll stick to regular french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
The cup of orange juice adds a sweet and tangy taste surprise to this wonderful variation on basic french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States