Haitian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This has really good flavor and is a nice deviation from our normal French toast. I didn’t want to deal with the soggy bread fearing that after sitting for several hours in an egg mixture it would just fall apart, therefore I made this into a casserole 8x8 pan, baking it at 350º for 40 - 45 minutes. The only other change I did was to use challah bread (personal preference) and cubed the bread for easier serving. We enjoyed this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Loved this! As did the whole family. Didn't feel like cooking like regular french toast so I broke it up and put it in the oven as one reviewer suggested. It was excellent. Maybe next time I'll add some dried fruit to it, like cranberries or raisins, anything really. Felt it was a little healthier baked since my daughter isn't into fried foods. I used a good cinnamon bread too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is really good. Used milk rather than heavy cream and left out the nutmeg. I don't think I would want this every time over "classic" french toast but it's a nice treat every now and then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Very good. Used items i had on hand. Omitted OJ-used a little bite of milk maybe 1/2Cup, and used eggnog flavored liquid creamer in place of heavy cream. Gave it a special holiday taste. My family really enjoyed this sprinkled with powdered sugar. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkitty79
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I want to thank you for your recipe. I used it as inspiration to develop a "French Toast Casserole" that earned rave reviews. I am sure your recipe is wonderful as written, I just wanted out of the kitchen to mingle with guests. Thanks for the idea! Basically, I cubed the bread, placed in a casserole and poured the egg mixture over the top. After allowing the bread to absorb liquid I baked at 375 for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was great french toast! My husband and kids loved it! The orange juice made a great new flavor for french toast. The only thing it was soggy, but probably cause I didnt let the bread sit out (unwrapped) long enough.... next time I will! Thanks love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LooHunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
great recipe. Except, with using thick whole grain bread- I would still opt to putting the mixture in a bowl and dipping the bread vs. soaking it. The bread was a little too soggy for my family liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittykat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Delicious! I had some stale croissants I had to use up so I used those. The only real difference was I used honey instead of the white sugar. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Oh my delicious. Seriously could not stop eating it! We had it for a brunch and all the friends wanted to take the left overs. We added some fresh vanilla bean in for a little more "cozy" feeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Very yummy! I'm never going back to regular french toast again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Arverne, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States