Haitian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is DEVINE! Followed the recipe exactly and got rave reviews from the rest of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Loved it, but I used light brown sugar instead of white, simply orange orange pineapple juice, Grand marnier, regular butter bread & skipped out on the whipping cream. It was a hit in my house! My hubby didn't even use syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This recipe was very nice. I used a loaf of fresh white bread and it was not too soggy like some of the complaints I've read. Also, I used brown sugar instead of white sugar. The orange was an added surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenV
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
My family loved this recipe! I followed the recipe exactly, except for one thing. I didn't have heavy cream, so I used whole milk instead. I pre-mixed the eggs/milk/OJ/cinnamon/sugar/nutmeg the night before, and stuck it in the refrigerator to save time in the morning. It worked great! No problems with soggy bread here. It fried up nicely. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This is a family favorite. Even gets the teens out of bed on the weekends! I made this without the cinnamon and nutmeg and added orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
very good meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerdine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made this with half and half and baking Splenda. Also, used plain white bread b/c it was what I had on hand. Delicious! Didn't even need confectioner's sugar or syrup. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I didn't let the bread stand overnight but lightly toasted them in the toaster and they were fine. I used challah bread but ommitted the confectioner's sugar, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. There was a nice hint of OJ and the were delicious and moist without any maple syrup! If I happen to have whipping cream I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricodelicious

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
A hit with the family every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashkennedy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
If you enjoy bread pudding, you'd probably enjoy this recipe. I loved the flavor of the orange and cream (although I'd probably nix the sugar in recipe as it made it a tad too sweet for me) - but hated the consistency. Husband loved the cream interior consistency, but didn't care for the orange flavor. Can you guess which one of us doesn't care for bread pudding?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States