Haitian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is a great recipe. I didn't think it was too orangy tasting, it was just right. I used some homemade white bread that was about a week old, which was great because it was hard and tough and useless for most any other consumption. Of course, I drowned it with maple syrup and also some with a "choke cherry" syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yessi
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
These were just absolutely delicious!! Didn't change anything. Made them for my parents this thanksgiving morning.. seemed like they left to work in a pretty good mood ;) Great way to start a morning. ^-^ I will definately be making them again. The orange juice gives it a tang to the french toast but it blends in perfectly with all the other ingredients. YUM. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is DEVINE! Followed the recipe exactly and got rave reviews from the rest of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Loved it, but I used light brown sugar instead of white, simply orange orange pineapple juice, Grand marnier, regular butter bread & skipped out on the whipping cream. It was a hit in my house! My hubby didn't even use syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This recipe was very nice. I used a loaf of fresh white bread and it was not too soggy like some of the complaints I've read. Also, I used brown sugar instead of white sugar. The orange was an added surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenV
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
My family loved this recipe! I followed the recipe exactly, except for one thing. I didn't have heavy cream, so I used whole milk instead. I pre-mixed the eggs/milk/OJ/cinnamon/sugar/nutmeg the night before, and stuck it in the refrigerator to save time in the morning. It worked great! No problems with soggy bread here. It fried up nicely. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This is a family favorite. Even gets the teens out of bed on the weekends! I made this without the cinnamon and nutmeg and added orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
very good meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerdine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made this with half and half and baking Splenda. Also, used plain white bread b/c it was what I had on hand. Delicious! Didn't even need confectioner's sugar or syrup. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I didn't let the bread stand overnight but lightly toasted them in the toaster and they were fine. I used challah bread but ommitted the confectioner's sugar, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. There was a nice hint of OJ and the were delicious and moist without any maple syrup! If I happen to have whipping cream I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricodelicious

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States