Hackin Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I made a quick homemade barbeque sauce for this recipe. I used BLSL chicken breasts instead of bone-in chicken breasts. I wanted to make it stretch a little farther so I cut each breast in half and lightly pounded it each breast with the tenderizing mallet. Doing this meant that I had to double the ham and cheese. I made no other changes. I did not try this myself but my family liked it. My husband said that next time, he'd like to try this with bacon instead of ham and in a hoagie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I am only giving it 4 stars because I had to modify it a little. First, I used small boneless/skinless breasts because we prefer them. I seasoned them with barbeque flavored spices and baked them for about 10 minutes before adding the barbeque sauce SHREDDED ham and then GRATED cheese. This was a great recipe that my husband and I both enjoyed. I will definitely add this to our "rotation" of easy weeknight dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I, like others, also used boneless skinless chicken breasts and thought it turned out fine. I poured the barbecue sauce over the whole thing and added shredded ham and grated cheese and baked it all at once. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
The easiet recipe one could ask for and pretty good and nice-looking too. I wasn't expecting it to be, but it actually came out very tender and moist. It's not BURSTING with flavor, but the flavor is pretty good and if you spoon the extra sauce over the chicken after it's baked, it helps. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Very Easy to make...Great flavor the bbq sauce really compliments the ham and cheese. Already have requests to make it again. Even the picky eaters loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicoledaniellerichard
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Huge hit! I made a couple changes. I used BLSL chicken breast and cut them in half, I then rubbed them with BBQ seasoning. I stuck them in the oven for 15 minutes and then coated them in BBQ sauce and stuck some cut up onions in the pan. While that was cooking for another 15 minutes, I fried up some bacon till they were rubbery, but not too crispy, I then put the bacon on top of the chicken along with the cheese. I let it cook for another 15 minutes. And it was perfect. Everyone came back for seconds (even my picky grandparents) I will definitely be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was delicious and easy to make! I used boneless skinless breast (kids like them better) I forgot the ham slices but I will be making this again and will add them next time!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Hubs liked this. It was simple to prepare and all I did to tweak was use boneless chicken breasts and sprinkled them with garlic salt before cooking. Easy and oven baked, Thanks for the nice meal, we liked your chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
The first time I made this it was with boneless skinless chicken breasts. Turned out ok but rather dry. The second time, I first marinated the chicken breasts in some of the barbecue sauce for a couple of hours, and it made a huge difference - very moist with a lot more flavor. The only other change I made was to add the cheese and then broil - way quicker than returning it to the oven for 10 or so minutes. I also use whatever cheese I have on hand - extra sharp Cheddar, Swiss, Provolone or a combination. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I used boneless chicken breast like many others.This was very easy to prepare.I spiced up the breasts a little before baking, then followed the recipe the rest of the way.This is an easy and different way to have chicken on a busy week night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States