Habichuelas Guisadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Delicious!! I addes some diced tomatoes and a little fresh cilantro. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
THanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Nice - I mashed about a half cup of the beans before adding them which helped the sauce thicken and I didn't use the Sazon because I am trying avoid so much salt (and a lot of Sazon is really high in sodium) and instead used cumin, ground coriander (the fresh cilantro is a great idea), fresh ground black pepper and a bit of cayenne. I also always put a spritz of lime juice in beans too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
I'VE TRIED ALL OF FIVEBRIGS RECIPES, AGAIN I'D HAVE TO SAY AWSOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Again this was a great recipe. I used canned and drained kidney beans, omitted the salt, used unsalted tomato sauce and added Adobo to taste. It was awsome. I've used the canned and drained pinto beans before and it was without-a-doubt-delicious! The longer it cooks the more the flavors infuse into the beans, just make sure it doesn't burn. If you want thicker broth, try using the water the beans come in, instead draining it. Or use 1/2 water, 1/2 the bean water. MMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
delicious w/ white rice..... ty my husdband love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I'v never had Puerto Rican food before, so I can't speak to the authenticity of this dish. I didn't care for the taste, I won't make it again. I prefer longer, slow cooking bean recipes so the flavors can mix. This had very, very strong flavors! (Like I said, I'm not accustomed to Puerto Rican food)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This was so easy and SO good! Wonderful flavor. I used canned pintos and, as another reviewer suggested, I didn't drain them and I left out the water. This made the "sauce" a perfect consistency. I also had plenty of time so I let them simmer about 45 minutes. I served this over white rice and garnished with fresh cilantro. Yum! I used this as a side dish to the Puerto Rican Meat Patties...also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
this recipe is good but I did make a few small changes. I quickly diced a small potato and plantain - you can get this at a Spanish food store and even some regular grocery stores - and sauteed them for a few minutes and added that to the rest of the mixture. The starch helped thicken the bean sauce up. I also spiced it up with some fresh cilantro and Adobo. Added juice from can of beans as suggested and let it simmer for about half an hour. mmmm. came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
These beans were wonderful. I don't have the time to wait for a pot of beans to cook, so I too used canned pinto beans, as the other reviewers suggested. I couldn't tell the difference. I followed the recipe as written, except I used a whole packet of sason with a 40 oz can of beans (along w/ 1/2 of its water)and added adobo to taste. My beans came out perfect. These went very well with fivebrigs white rice. I'll keep this recipe in my box from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States