Habichuelas Guisadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These beans are delicious and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Having been given our family traditional PR recipes, I always switch this up a bit...First after oil in skillet, brown tiny bits of ham or Canadian bacon or pork til just cracklin'....Sprinkle wih some Adobo seasoning...Then add bits of diced onion, tiny bits of potatoes, and then turn down heat some and add 1 or 2 ( I add 2 ) pkts Sazon....combine..then add a good 1 or 2 tbls Sofrito. Combine. Add 1 or 2 cans Goya tomate sauce. Finally add the pink beans. Combine. Cover and let all flavours marry. Simmer on low...Uncover when want to serve and cook liquid down ( only if too much ) but leave enough for it to have a creamy and not dry consistency. Now THESE are true PR beans! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
EXCEPTIONAL! I made it with pinto beans as well as kidney beans and they're BOTH DELICIOUS! Right down to the bean stew! MMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clonefailure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pahokee, Florida, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
These beans are delicious! Sooooo tasty! I only gave it four stars because I think some people might find it a little salty but I loved it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieDG
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I used the canned sofrito sauce. My husband is Haitian and likes beans and he liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I just love this recipe. It makes the whole house smell fantastic. Plus I cant believe that this isnt good for you. I double the amounts and freeze it for a meat free meal in a pinch. It freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Just the right ratio of tomato sauce:water. Great for a quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was a fantastic dish. I made no changes whatsoever. So good, in fact, that I am taking the leftovers for my lunch tomorrow, as the main dish! The only reason I am not giving this 5 stars is because they never thickened up and were very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by 79SHALE97
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Im making these last minute to go with my carne guisada (recipe carne guisada III). Since it was last minute, I made a few small changes. Omitted the oil, used 2 cans of kidney beans, chili powder, cumin, and fresh cracked sea salt and pepper. I plan on serving both the carne cuisada and this dish over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States