Habichuelas Guisadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Excellent beans. I have been trying to find a good, authentic recipe for my Puerto Rican husband and did not want to use anymore Goya sofrito! These beans tasted so fresh and the flavor was out of this world. I doubled the recipe and it was amazing. I used fivebrigs recipe for the sofrito also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
These were exactly what I have been wanting since a cruise stop in San Juan. I had some beans at a little cafe on the side of the road and could not reproduce them until now. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Berry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I cooked these all day on the stovetop over med-low adding water as needed... these were awesome. Oh My Goodness! The flavor of these were Mmmmmmmm Mmmmmmmmm Goooood. I made the sofrito recipe shared by fivebrigs to make these beans. This is my new favorite bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Very easy and flavorful beans, we like to use Cilantro as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This tasted just like the make it on the island! I just added some green olives and cut up slices of bacon and chunks of ham! Everyone LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMENAIDE
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
These beans were wonderful. I don't have the time to wait for a pot of beans to cook, so I too used canned pinto beans, as the other reviewers suggested. I couldn't tell the difference. I followed the recipe as written, except I used a whole packet of sason with a 40 oz can of beans (along w/ 1/2 of its water)and added adobo to taste. My beans came out perfect. These went very well with fivebrigs white rice. I'll keep this recipe in my box from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
this recipe is good but I did make a few small changes. I quickly diced a small potato and plantain - you can get this at a Spanish food store and even some regular grocery stores - and sauteed them for a few minutes and added that to the rest of the mixture. The starch helped thicken the bean sauce up. I also spiced it up with some fresh cilantro and Adobo. Added juice from can of beans as suggested and let it simmer for about half an hour. mmmm. came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This was so easy and SO good! Wonderful flavor. I used canned pintos and, as another reviewer suggested, I didn't drain them and I left out the water. This made the "sauce" a perfect consistency. I also had plenty of time so I let them simmer about 45 minutes. I served this over white rice and garnished with fresh cilantro. Yum! I used this as a side dish to the Puerto Rican Meat Patties...also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I'v never had Puerto Rican food before, so I can't speak to the authenticity of this dish. I didn't care for the taste, I won't make it again. I prefer longer, slow cooking bean recipes so the flavors can mix. This had very, very strong flavors! (Like I said, I'm not accustomed to Puerto Rican food)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
delicious w/ white rice..... ty my husdband love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States