Habichuelas Guisadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Great recipe. I used a can of kidney beans because it was the only thing I had on hand. Tasted great and I'll definetly keep this recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
My step mom is puerto rican so I grew up eating puerto rican rice and beans. I make these often and the only thing I do differently is add a good handful of green pimento pitted olives, some cubed pieces of ham and instead of pinto beans I use 2 cans of goya low sodium pink beans undrained. Because I don't drain my beans I cut back the water to 1/4 cup to a 1/2 cup at most. If you don't make your own sofrito try to find a kind in the produce sections versus the jarred kind. My grocery store sells fresh sofrito, so I just keep a container in my freezer for when I make beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Excellent beans. I have been trying to find a good, authentic recipe for my Puerto Rican husband and did not want to use anymore Goya sofrito! These beans tasted so fresh and the flavor was out of this world. I doubled the recipe and it was amazing. I used fivebrigs recipe for the sofrito also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
These were exactly what I have been wanting since a cruise stop in San Juan. I had some beans at a little cafe on the side of the road and could not reproduce them until now. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Berry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I cooked these all day on the stovetop over med-low adding water as needed... these were awesome. Oh My Goodness! The flavor of these were Mmmmmmmm Mmmmmmmmm Goooood. I made the sofrito recipe shared by fivebrigs to make these beans. This is my new favorite bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Very easy and flavorful beans, we like to use Cilantro as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This tasted just like the make it on the island! I just added some green olives and cut up slices of bacon and chunks of ham! Everyone LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMENAIDE
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
These beans were wonderful. I don't have the time to wait for a pot of beans to cook, so I too used canned pinto beans, as the other reviewers suggested. I couldn't tell the difference. I followed the recipe as written, except I used a whole packet of sason with a 40 oz can of beans (along w/ 1/2 of its water)and added adobo to taste. My beans came out perfect. These went very well with fivebrigs white rice. I'll keep this recipe in my box from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
this recipe is good but I did make a few small changes. I quickly diced a small potato and plantain - you can get this at a Spanish food store and even some regular grocery stores - and sauteed them for a few minutes and added that to the rest of the mixture. The starch helped thicken the bean sauce up. I also spiced it up with some fresh cilantro and Adobo. Added juice from can of beans as suggested and let it simmer for about half an hour. mmmm. came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This was so easy and SO good! Wonderful flavor. I used canned pintos and, as another reviewer suggested, I didn't drain them and I left out the water. This made the "sauce" a perfect consistency. I also had plenty of time so I let them simmer about 45 minutes. I served this over white rice and garnished with fresh cilantro. Yum! I used this as a side dish to the Puerto Rican Meat Patties...also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States