Habichuelas Guisadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I am sooo glad I found this recipe! It's just like my mom makes it but she adds a ham hock to it. Since I no longer speak to my mom, I can make my own beans & not have to wait to eat hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
this recipe is soo great and so fulfilling...it really tastes like authentic puerto rican beans. add puerto rican steamed rice, tostones and you have an awesome meal. we love it! the only changes is that i add a little bit more sazon seasoning because i love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisapetersen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I can say it came out really good, I also add it cut tomato.(I just love tomato)..and it gave that that extra kick.. thank you for your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randallstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
i found this recipe a few months ago and i was eager to try them cuz i really dont like plain beans, there is nothing better to me than these beans, i think they taste much better when made with fresh beans and i also add more sofrito, these beans kick butt!!! thee best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERTA08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This recipe makes nice flavorful beans. My famlily recipes are very similar to this one. I add a little more sofito and some chopped alcaparrado. Alcaparrado is a mixture of green olives stuffed with pimentos and capers. My family puts green olives in everthing! This is such a classic dish, it goes with everything. My husband and I put some in a bowl, place a fried egg on top and dip plantian pieces in it for breakfast and dinner a couple times a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
excellent i have made this many times whith did not add extra salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRDennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was sooo good !!! Especially with small chuncks of potato in the mix.Pour over some white rice!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was good, I made it with the carne guisada III recipe on this site. Great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Great recipe. I used a can of kidney beans because it was the only thing I had on hand. Tasted great and I'll definetly keep this recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
My step mom is puerto rican so I grew up eating puerto rican rice and beans. I make these often and the only thing I do differently is add a good handful of green pimento pitted olives, some cubed pieces of ham and instead of pinto beans I use 2 cans of goya low sodium pink beans undrained. Because I don't drain my beans I cut back the water to 1/4 cup to a 1/2 cup at most. If you don't make your own sofrito try to find a kind in the produce sections versus the jarred kind. My grocery store sells fresh sofrito, so I just keep a container in my freezer for when I make beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States