Habichuelas Guisadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
yummmyy love this stuff over white rice, to make it thicker i chop up cubes of some buttercup squash and cook it till it thickens, also i use cilantro and some olives and peppers too! =) (the squash when it cooks makes it thicken, kind of like when you cook potatos in a stew)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These beans are delicious and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Having been given our family traditional PR recipes, I always switch this up a bit...First after oil in skillet, brown tiny bits of ham or Canadian bacon or pork til just cracklin'....Sprinkle wih some Adobo seasoning...Then add bits of diced onion, tiny bits of potatoes, and then turn down heat some and add 1 or 2 ( I add 2 ) pkts Sazon....combine..then add a good 1 or 2 tbls Sofrito. Combine. Add 1 or 2 cans Goya tomate sauce. Finally add the pink beans. Combine. Cover and let all flavours marry. Simmer on low...Uncover when want to serve and cook liquid down ( only if too much ) but leave enough for it to have a creamy and not dry consistency. Now THESE are true PR beans! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
EXCEPTIONAL! I made it with pinto beans as well as kidney beans and they're BOTH DELICIOUS! Right down to the bean stew! MMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clonefailure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pahokee, Florida, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
These beans are delicious! Sooooo tasty! I only gave it four stars because I think some people might find it a little salty but I loved it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieDG
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I used the canned sofrito sauce. My husband is Haitian and likes beans and he liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I just love this recipe. It makes the whole house smell fantastic. Plus I cant believe that this isnt good for you. I double the amounts and freeze it for a meat free meal in a pinch. It freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Just the right ratio of tomato sauce:water. Great for a quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was a fantastic dish. I made no changes whatsoever. So good, in fact, that I am taking the leftovers for my lunch tomorrow, as the main dish! The only reason I am not giving this 5 stars is because they never thickened up and were very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States