Habichuelas Guisadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was a fantastic dish. I made no changes whatsoever. So good, in fact, that I am taking the leftovers for my lunch tomorrow, as the main dish! The only reason I am not giving this 5 stars is because they never thickened up and were very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by 79SHALE97
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Im making these last minute to go with my carne guisada (recipe carne guisada III). Since it was last minute, I made a few small changes. Omitted the oil, used 2 cans of kidney beans, chili powder, cumin, and fresh cracked sea salt and pepper. I plan on serving both the carne cuisada and this dish over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I am sooo glad I found this recipe! It's just like my mom makes it but she adds a ham hock to it. Since I no longer speak to my mom, I can make my own beans & not have to wait to eat hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
this recipe is soo great and so fulfilling...it really tastes like authentic puerto rican beans. add puerto rican steamed rice, tostones and you have an awesome meal. we love it! the only changes is that i add a little bit more sazon seasoning because i love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisapetersen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I can say it came out really good, I also add it cut tomato.(I just love tomato)..and it gave that that extra kick.. thank you for your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randallstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
i found this recipe a few months ago and i was eager to try them cuz i really dont like plain beans, there is nothing better to me than these beans, i think they taste much better when made with fresh beans and i also add more sofrito, these beans kick butt!!! thee best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERTA08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This recipe makes nice flavorful beans. My famlily recipes are very similar to this one. I add a little more sofito and some chopped alcaparrado. Alcaparrado is a mixture of green olives stuffed with pimentos and capers. My family puts green olives in everthing! This is such a classic dish, it goes with everything. My husband and I put some in a bowl, place a fried egg on top and dip plantian pieces in it for breakfast and dinner a couple times a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
excellent i have made this many times whith did not add extra salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reynaldo Dennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was sooo good !!! Especially with small chuncks of potato in the mix.Pour over some white rice!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was good, I made it with the carne guisada III recipe on this site. Great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States