Habichuelas Guisadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LatinMama
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Yummm! Tastes like my Puertorican mama makes! I did add olives and softito. The whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I have been trying to find a good PR recipe for a long time but there was always something missing. My husband to one bite & said "that's it!". Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This was good. I didn't have sofrito so I added onion powder, garlic powder and chili powder in it's place. I made my own sazon seasoning so I put in 1 1/4 tsp. of that. I also added 1 cup of water instead of 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I love this recipe! My 'adoptive' Puerto Rican family made this all the time. Sometimes with variations using potatoes/chicken/vienna sausage. I'm not a big meat fan but I love the potato version. They made their own sofrito too, and froze them in ice cube trays. Oh and I'd like to add that I accidentally clicked the 'thumbs up' tab on Tata's review. I do not agree with her review at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Battle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Very different, I loved this! Served it with chicken. I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Being Puerto Rican, I thought that this was a good and easy to follow recipe :) goes well with tostones (green plantains) and aguacate (avocado) and a meat dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Habichuelas are traditionally kidney beans, not pinto beans. And I always do my own sofrito; onions, garlic, cilantro, culantro, cubaneli peppers, salted pork, and sweet peppers. Sautee that in olive oil, then put cans of big KIDNEY beans, liquid and all, half a can of tomatoe sauce and cover with water. Add some cumin and some oregano and you cook it for a loooong time, at least a couple of hours. A guiso always tastes better the longer you cook it. Then if you let it cool and reheat the next day it's even better! Don't forget to season with some salt and put in like a t sugar to cut off the acidity of the tomatoe sauce. Some people like it with a bit of potatoes (I don't) some people like some green olives (I do). And then you are done. NOW you got some puertorrican habichuelas!!!! Oh yeah baby!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YARI5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I loved eating this when "mami" cooked it. I have made different versions, such as adding potatoes, or ham, or when my meat freezer is empty, I use Spam. Love it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicaInBlue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Love it. I use canned pinto beans and do not drain. I also add a pinch of Adobo seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
yummmyy love this stuff over white rice, to make it thicker i chop up cubes of some buttercup squash and cook it till it thickens, also i use cilantro and some olives and peppers too! =) (the squash when it cooks makes it thicken, kind of like when you cook potatos in a stew)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States