Habanero Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Just some poor spice choices.. You have very nice habaneros, but drown them in sugar, liquid smoke and cumin? 1. Use frozen or fresh mangoes instead of syrupy canned peaches. 2. No liquid smoke! 3. 1/8 tsp fresh ground cumin. 4. Halve the molasses, sugar, and honey. 5. substitute 1/3 of the white vinegar with fresh squeezed limes. 6. add water to achieve the consistency you want. After completing the recipe pour the mix into small freezer bags and lay them flat in the freezer.. After they are frozen you can stack them vertically, and break off pieces as you need them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This sauce is AMAZING!!!! This hot and sweet combination is so addictive. One of the boys wanted to just drink it out of the container. We served it with fresh grilled Mahi Mahi tacos. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made this last week and was very pleased with the results. A word of caution: This was my first time using habanero peppers. I wore disposable rubber gloves to protect my hands, but when I was finished touching the peppers, I removed my left glove using my right hand and my gloved thumb rubbed my left wrist as I was getting the glove off. It resulted in a burn. Back to the recipe. The sauce is thin and runny. Today I had the idea to mix cream cheese with the sauce to make it a consistency more suitable for dipping. The results were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good. I'd like it a little thicker: maybe peach pie filling or jam? We would have been better with three habaneros instead of six for my family with young kids. Sauteed chicken in this for burritos, and then adults added more sauce on the burrito. Everyone seemed to like it. It makes plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKSANDBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Junction, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I think this is a great base to start with knowing you plan to modify it to fit your specific taste. I put in half the sugar but pretty much everything else the same. The smell of the habaneros maybe a bit intimidating at first, but push through, it will definitely be worthy it (if you like sweet heat!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I forgot the liquid smoke and I think it's really optional. This is a great recipe, I use it on lots of things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clark Chesser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
To much Garlic... 4 cloves is way to much. It over powered the sauce. This should be named sweet garlic habanero sauce. Very disappointed in the out come, not to mention it was about 20 bucks to make. Just to much going on in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Great recipe. I did half the amount of cumin and liquid smoke like others. Didn't have molasses, so added a little more brown sugar and honey to substitute. seems hotter by itself, but once on food it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Awesome!!!!!!! Just reading this recipe I knew it would be delicious. It is wonderful. As a dip, as a marinade. I'm currently dunking apple slices in it! The only things I did a little different, was just cut back a little bit on the sugar, and honey. I figured I could add more if I wanted to. I did add 9 habanero's cause we like hot. Thank you so much for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Author's note: we've modified the recipe slightly and feel it is much better with only 1/2 tablespoon of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Cheesy Broccoli Puffs with Sriracha Sauce

Bring your holiday party to life with delicious bite-size appetizers.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States