Habanero Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This is a very good salsa although I made a few changes. I used 5 jal instead of 3, 5 habaneros instead of 1 (seeds and ribs included on both peppers), 3 T of sugar only 5 cans of drained petite diced tomatoes and didn't put the can of chiles in at all. I blended the tomatoes in the blender, mixed it all together and it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Remember to do a taste test, since everyone likes more or less of certain spices. I found it to be a little bland since I am a garlic lover but this is a GOOD recipe, very versatile. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplicity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
THIS IS A GOOD BASIC SALSA RECIPE. HOWEVER, WE PREFER OUR HABANERO SALSA ON THE SWEET SIDE WHICH SEEMS TO BALANCE OUT THE HEAT. APRICOT OR PEACH ARE GOOD CHOICES TO ADD TO THE SALSA. IF YOU PREFER TO BUY IT, GET MRS. RENFROS HABANERO SALSA WHICH IS MADE IN TEXAS. I BUY IT HERE (COLORADO) IN THE GROCERY STORES. IT'S VERY GOOD & THE WORK IS ALREADY DONE! IT MAKES A KILLER TEX-MEX CHICKEN HABANERO PIZZA, USING FLOUR TORTILLAS AND THIN LAYERS OF TOPPINGS. BAKE IN A HOT OVEN. (TOPPINGS: DICED COOKED CHICKEN, SLICED GREEN ONIONS, HABANERO SALSA, FINELY DICED TOMATO, CO-JACK OR PEPPERJACK SHREDDED CHEESE & GARNISHED WITH CHOPPED FRESH CILANTRO.) YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This is a good recipe. I did add white vinegar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerpalguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This salsa is so good, it has a very unique flavor. I used 6 fresh tomatoes that I sliced before throwing them in the blender. I used 3 pickled habaneros and 3 fresh jalapenos that I left the seeds intact!!!! My salsa was spicy but not too spicy you couldn't enjoy it! Will make again, thanks...... I had to make a special trip to the store to buy more tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I've been making this for years. The only thing I do different is add a few pickled jalepenos to the mix and if I can't find whole stewed tomatoes in tomatoe sauce, I drain of the excess liquid in a collander before mixing the other ingredients with the tomatoes. try this, you can't go wrong. wonderful and fresh tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I have been trying to find a good salsa recipe and till now I never have got a good one. This salsa is so good. I am a big fan of heat so I used two habanero peppers and it wasn't too hot for anyone. I took a batch camping with 2 other families and everyone asked to use it for all there dinners and a snack. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I used only fresh ingredients. I used 2-3 big tomatoes, 4 thai or 5 serrano fresh peppers instead of the can of green peppers, and did not use sugar. If I need a sweet salsa I would substitute sugar for half a pureed mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Although this recipe is a good one, I'd like to note there is a difference between Jalapeno peppers and Habanero pepper - the Habanero being even hotter than the Jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Its so fresh and its nice and spicy. Doesnt last very long!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States